Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: hey guys need help urgently

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    race's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    hey guys need help urgently

    i have an opel astra turbo coupe 2lturbo and when i accelerate from about 3 to 4000 rpm my turbo well i think its my turbo screams and i loose power it lasts for about 2 seconds and then comes right another thing that happens is when im driving the car it jerks as if i was taking my foot off the pedal and then putting it back on plz guys need help urgent

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    mfivebmw's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    760
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Wecome to the Club,

    just a guess check all the trunking/pipework to and from the Turbo, sound like you've got an air/gases leak when the engine hits 3-4000revs.

    Might be able to test this at standstill with someone revving the engine for you.

    Dave.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    race's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks man you guys look like you know your cars i live in South Africa and its really hard to get some decent help over here. that was one of the first things i checked i better tell you the full story i took my car to a tuner here i had a bigger inter cooler done and software and since then ive been having this problem i took it back the guy just gives me excuses

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    fingz999's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    2,359
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    not a turbo expert but could it not be the map is out?
    Heading back to the world of AOC

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    mattjk's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    593
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Pedal test or diagnostic test would help.

    ps, im sure a fella on here wrote a brief guide on the pedal test should be made a sticky.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mattjk View Post
    Pedal test or diagnostic test would help.

    ps, im sure a fella on here wrote a brief guide on the pedal test should be made a sticky.
    you rang

    pedal test here: http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...78&postcount=2


    (in process of making it a sticky/how-to)


    may be something as simple as an AFM, BCS or actuator etc.

    Do the test above and see if theres any fault codes stored

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    mfivebmw's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    760
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by race View Post
    thanks man you guys look like you know your cars i live in South Africa and its really hard to get some decent help over here. that was one of the first things i checked i better tell you the full story i took my car to a tuner here i had a bigger inter cooler done and software and since then ive been having this problem i took it back the guy just gives me excuses
    Ahhh right then,

    you don't have to have new software for a bigger intercooler, the new software added must have upset/conflicted with the old software upsetting the fuelling/ignition map/optimum boost pressure timing and so on.
    Take it back be nice and ask them to remove the new software/map to revert it back to standard, just for testing.

    If all is fine then get them to reinstall their software then retest.

    If the problem returns with their software added get it removed asks for some of your money back(the software bit) then take it somewhere else and get it updated.

    A live rolling road software update is the best, as it's individually customised for each car, but yep i know it cost the most.

    Dave.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    race's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks guys ill give it a shot really stupid never thought of that do you guys know how to reset to std i have a policy on my software so no mater what he will always reload the software its just a bit of mission to get to this guy its quiet far can you reset it your self i was told that if you leave the battery disconnected for about 15 min this would reset it i haven't tried it tho

Similar Threads

  1. help urgently guys....
    By gary1112 in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-09-2012, 23:03
  2. Guys Guys Guys.. quick question
    By Skuzzle in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 85
    Last Post: 15-01-2005, 01:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •