Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: What does ECN mean?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    jran7337's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    789
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    What does ECN mean?

    After performing the pedal test on my Astra MK5, I get an ECN code 007071 which I have no idea about, I've tried taking a look on the fault code list but that doesn't seem to match the format. If anyone can shed some light on this, that would be appreciated.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Taken from a PM from Geordiebandit

    the first 4 digits are the trouble code
    the last 2 are a value

    so in your case the codes would have been 0070 & 0500

    0070 - P0070 Ambient Air Temperature Sensor Circuit
    0500 - P0500 Vehicle Speed Sensor Malfunction
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    jran7337's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    789
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Hi AutoSparks,

    Thanks for that, still not sure how you worked out the 0500 bit but my question is, I only took the car to the garage on Monday and asked the guy to check as the engine management light was staying on, he advised there were no codes stored in memory but after getting home, I noticed that both the service light and the engine management light were now staying on and thats when I got the above code. So why did the guy say there were no fault codes when clearly there are? Should I call them back and book it in again as its still within warranty? Or should I try clearing the ECU first? How do I disconnect the ECU to clear the codes without having to resort to disconnecting the battery? Not sure where the connectors are.

    Thanks again

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think that the 0500 is just want was PM'd to Autospark's and he has just copied and pasted for example's really as if you notice he has highlighted the 0070

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Exactly munkie, I just highlighted the info you needed to know, when I asked geordiebandit about it I had 2 fault codes

    Just thought i'd copy and paste because one of the codes was the same
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    jran7337's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    789
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Ahh ok I get it, any idea on how to unplug the ECU to clear these?

    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •