Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: if i unplug battery ecu?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    wardie222's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Post if i unplug battery ecu?

    hi my car has a crankshaft flaut, when i get it reset by a workshop it runs fine for 500miles,iv been told if i unplug battery over nite it resets the ecu,is this tru any 1 know plz,cus if so when the car strats to miss fire as it dus after 500mile i would do this? any help plz?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    swedge's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    say again??? lol

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    wardie222's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    my light on dash is on all time,i go for a ecu test, because loads of miss fire after 500miles at the bottom of list 4 ecu is crankshaft sensor.but it runs fine after the test, for anthor 500 miles ,can i do the same thing by unpluging the battery over nite?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    swedge's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    252
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah you probably could but wouldnt it be better just to change it

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    MarkG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    10,676
    Mentioned in
    14 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)
    Follow MarkG On Twitter
    just change it as i suggested in the thread the other day!

    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=193787

    oh, and no it doesn't reset it by leaving it unplugged over night, well the megane didn't tried out several things to get the light to go off, including disconnecting the battery - didn't work.

    the mechanic told me, cars are so computerised now that the slightest little thing will be picked up by the sensor, and through the lights on, and cause it to mis-fire/go into limp-home mode. it takes the ecu test to tell the ecu that nothing is wrong - i.e faults cleared!
    Astra sold ... replaced with a Skoda ... soon to be replaced with another Vauxhall

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    wardie222's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yea u prob right,but im on hol in few days and was just thinking if over nite resets it, it could get me back home if miss firing comes back, but i will replace it asap,thanks, maybe il unplug batt every nite save some money lol,

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    MarkG's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    10,676
    Mentioned in
    14 Post(s)
    Quoted
    17 Post(s)
    Follow MarkG On Twitter
    why would un-plugging the battery save money, am lost :s
    Astra sold ... replaced with a Skoda ... soon to be replaced with another Vauxhall

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    wardie222's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    been told it dus reset the ecu on the astra,iv dun it 1s and the light dont come on for a bit,not dun it wen miss firing so was asking if it dus reset like taking it to a ecu test,cus it run sweat after workshop dus it

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    rob16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
    Posts
    681
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    english please?


  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    and now for some sense......

    no need to unplug the battery for such a long time - in fact 30mins is enough to clear any ECU codes

    theres an even quicker way though - locate the ECU in the engine bay and disconnect the 2 big oblong plugs - leave them disconnected for about 5-10 mins - reconnect and the codes should be cleared - this way means u dont have to mess around with stereo codes and stations etc

    my advice though would be to confirm the codes in question and replace the faulty sensor

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Safe to unplug the EGR wire?
    By Libertinepete in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 16-02-2013, 11:02
  2. afm unplug
    By inmyvain in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-10-2012, 13:07

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •