Thread: Pass Plus & IAM

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Pass Plus & IAM

Without hijacking the other thread, i just wanted to ask a couple of Q's on these..

I'm with AF on my new car, I know they are a broker so each policy will be different... But in general, would the above tests be taken into account if i did them now, even though i've been driving for 3 years? I'm fairly certain the IAM will as its open to all drivers, however the pass plus seems more aimed at new drivers?

Would just be nice to have some extra tuition with the amount of tards on the road and bring the insurance down at the same time...

Cheers,
    Nick

Status
    User
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You've hit the nail on the head.

You should be taking the Pass Plus to improve your driving ability and awareness. The drop in premium should be seen as an added *possible* bonus - not the reason for doing it

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I did pass plus when I passed, IMO forget about it as a way if improving your driving, it's just some token motorway time and won't tell you anything you haven't learned in 3 years worth of driving. Go for IAM, it sounds more fun too (especially now in your ACT!)

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Most insurers only take pass plus into consideration for your first 2 years driving mate so Swinton told me a couple of years ago, and like cheez says its a bullsh*t course, its supposed to be 6 hours or something, most driving schools will do it in half that and just give you the pass plus because its some extra money for them. You will have done everythin it is aimed at teachin you mate. IAM check with your insurer, will reduce with some, wont with others. How much is that out of interest?
    Driving Audi TT 225 Q

Status
    Supporting Trader
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted