Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Subwoofer Not Kicking! Urgent Help Pls

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    N.A-SRI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Subwoofer Not Kicking! Urgent Help Pls

    i have 2 problems firstly!

    my subwoofer keeps on cutting out on me and what i do is disconnect the fuse and reconnect it again and it works perfect...untill the next time.!

    what could the poblem be?


    2ndly...this is in a corsa C but the principle is the same im guessing....just recently wired a amp and sub to the car. the amp is activating with the head unit turn on and im getting a normal green light (no protect light) however the subwoofer isnt kicking at all! there seems to be nothing coming out of it at all! could it be a bad ground connection as i couldnt seem to find a good spot to ground it!?

    any help would be highly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    SRI-T Keithy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5,745
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think you have answered your own question. Get a good ground then come back if still not working.

    White is the new Black

    FARMYARD TUNING

    LEH IS THE FUTURE

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    SRiTaff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Drives
    Zafira GSi
    Location
    Warrington,Cheshire
    Posts
    2,829
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Not really urgent m8 .

    The first problem sounds like a bad earth.

    The second prob wont be an earth as if it was the earth the amp wouldnt be on.Have u taken the sub out of the box & checked the connections inside the box .
    . ..SRiTaff ...
    LIKE: ZletCruisers on Facebook.
    Drives: Arden Blue Zafira GSi.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    N.A-SRI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    lol urgent as in im gna be going out of town 4 a couple of nights and wont get another chance to ask! wana get it sorted before the journey really!

    soo if it was the earth the amp wouldnt power up r u saying mate? the box is a inphase xtb15 so its all enclosed...all i have access to is the + and - terminals but if they wernt connected properly then the protect light would be on right!?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    SRiTaff's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Drives
    Zafira GSi
    Location
    Warrington,Cheshire
    Posts
    2,829
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by N.A-SRI View Post
    lol urgent as in im gna be going out of town 4 a couple of nights and wont get another chance to ask! wana get it sorted before the journey really!

    soo if it was the earth the amp wouldnt power up r u saying mate?
    Na m8,in order for the amp to power up it need a live & an earth....U take either of them away & it wont work.Thats why the first prob sounds like a loose/dodgy earth & the second problem cant be an earth .
    . ..SRiTaff ...
    LIKE: ZletCruisers on Facebook.
    Drives: Arden Blue Zafira GSi.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    SRI-T Keithy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5,745
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It could be a bad earth. It good enough to power up but as soon as it has to work it cant supply what is needed.

    As the amp ever been used by you before?

    White is the new Black

    FARMYARD TUNING

    LEH IS THE FUTURE

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    N.A-SRI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    brand new amp and subwoofer!

    i guess i can rule out the live and the remote as the amp is turning on and off in relation to the headunit ryt?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    SRI-T Keithy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5,745
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yea I would just sort your earth out. Ever if it just temp direct to bat just to make sure. Then if you are still getting the fault It can be looked at again in more detail.

    God I sound like a teacher lol

    White is the new Black

    FARMYARD TUNING

    LEH IS THE FUTURE

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    N.A-SRI's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    186
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    u rekon i shud run a earth str8 to the battery just as a test....i could jus pull up another car behind and connect it to the negative terminal ryt? would it have to be a 4gauge wire though?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    dr.vek's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    17
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what sub and amp are you running? sounds like the amp is clipping(trying to output too big a signal) and going into protection mode.
    you can live in your car but you cant race a house.

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. mk4 gsi fan not kicking in?
    By meghead in forum Electrical
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-04-2011, 15:08
  2. fan not kicking in
    By drue1 in forum Electrical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16-01-2010, 08:35
  3. I'm Kicking Myself
    By Al in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-06-2009, 17:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •