Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: MFD display

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ttam69r's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    213
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    MFD display

    i have an alipine ida-x100 and when it turns on the date on the mfd turns off an goes blank so i was wondering if there was a way to keep that on as i know in my m8s corsa his does

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You need to cut a wire at the MFD, it's a red/white on the MK4's and I think the MK3's are the same
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    DJAv's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Drives
    Astra H Design 2.0T
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    1,414
    Mentioned in
    8 Post(s)
    Quoted
    31 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    You need to cut a wire at the MFD, it's a red/white on the MK4's and I think the MK3's are the same
    On the cars loom theres a RED/WHITE wire with a GREY wire.

    I recently had the guts out and thought I'd do this. I cut this RED/WHITE wire and my date is always there .... great! .... But I've noticed a definate reception problem with my radio.

    I thought the idea behind cutting this in the cars wiring (not the radio), was to allow the powered aerial to remian, i.e. the GREY wire?

    ideas?

    J
    Astra MK4 SXI 1.6 Twinport [Z16XEP] (2004) & Astra MK5 Design 2.0T [Z20LEL] (2006) & Zafira MK1 [Z18XE] (2003)|| Astra MK4 1.6 SXI [Z16XE] (2002) || Astra MK5 VXR [Z20LEH] (2007) || Astra MK4 1.6 SXI [Z16XE] (2001) || Vectra MK2 1.6 LS (1999) || Astra MK2 1.4 Merit (1990)

    Click here for the How To's

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by DJAv View Post
    On the cars loom theres a RED/WHITE wire with a GREY wire.

    I recently had the guts out and thought I'd do this. I cut this RED/WHITE wire and my date is always there .... great! .... But I've noticed a definate reception problem with my radio.

    I thought the idea behind cutting this in the cars wiring (not the radio), was to allow the powered aerial to remian, i.e. the GREY wire?

    ideas?

    J
    Red/White is joined to the aerial take the gator up and disconnect the red/white wire as it is plugged in join the remote aerial wire to the part of the plug that runs to the back of the car

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    DJAv's Avatar
    AOC Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Drives
    Astra H Design 2.0T
    Location
    Cambridgeshire
    Posts
    1,414
    Mentioned in
    8 Post(s)
    Quoted
    31 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Enigma ??? View Post
    Red/White is joined to the aerial take the gator up and disconnect the red/white wire as it is plugged in join the remote aerial wire to the part of the plug that runs to the back of the car
    I did all that .... I thought the grey wire was the amped aerial?
    Astra MK4 SXI 1.6 Twinport [Z16XEP] (2004) & Astra MK5 Design 2.0T [Z20LEL] (2006) & Zafira MK1 [Z18XE] (2003)|| Astra MK4 1.6 SXI [Z16XE] (2002) || Astra MK5 VXR [Z20LEH] (2007) || Astra MK4 1.6 SXI [Z16XE] (2001) || Vectra MK2 1.6 LS (1999) || Astra MK2 1.4 Merit (1990)

    Click here for the How To's

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No offence if you did then the radio reception would be the same,take the gator up check the red/white wire that is under the gear stick for voltage if their is no voltage then just do what i just said as that is the wire for the aerial amp

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I know you have said this all along Enigma that the red/white goes to the aerial booster but as far as I can see the red/white goes to the top diaplay and steering wheel controls with the grey going to the booster
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah when i took out my headlining to put a GPS aerial on the roof i traced it back to the centre console as their was no power going to it,that's the only reason why I've said that are you looking at wiring diagrams?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Yeah I looked at the diragrams where it says grey goes to the remote control and red/white goes everywhere else yet I know that you cut the red/white and the remote control stops

    Likewise the diagrams show the red/white wire going into a connector with the aerial in the centre console which my coupe doesn't have as it's only the aerial wire in there
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yep I've cut the grey one before so i know what your saying, that's weird why yours doesn't have the wire running down the centre console may by they had a prob or just like any other manufacturer decide to change something mid production mines 02 reg

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-01-2009, 13:53
  2. Astra MK4 MFD (LCD display) - change km/miles display
    By qwsoftware in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15-11-2007, 18:38

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •