Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Wiring loom

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    AK_LET's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    430
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Wiring loom

    I'm wanting to fit electric windows. I've got everything. But the interior wiring loom I've got that goes below the carpet is from a GSI so I'm guessing its CANBUS. Its got a thick orange cable though the loom, is this for the CANBUS?

    Will it still work, or should I just splice out what I need for the electric windows.


    (and before anyone says it, my van dosnt have the wiring to the doors for electric windows)

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Very little of the MK4 is canbus controlled, windows definatly aren't so all should work fine
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    AK_LET's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    430
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    So I should be able to use the full loom without problems? Mines an ENVOY van so there is pretty much NOTHING in it spec wise.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    If your fuse box hasn't got the fuses postions you will still need to hard wire it in
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    AK_LET's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    430
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    my fusebox had the places for the fuses. But dosnt have the wiring to the doors or in the doors

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    But you said you have a GSi loom for below the carpets? This will have the window wiring in
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    All you should need to do is get a set of wiring looms for the doors out of a higher spec car from a scrapyard.
    This will have the wiring for electric mirrors, windows & central locking that should match up to the GSi loom you have installed.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    AK_LET's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    430
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have the door looms + motors. I also have a Interior loom for below the carpet out of a GSI TURBO which has CANBUS wiring in

    i want to make sure that the interior loom will work and just plug and play as its coming out of an poverty spec van which isnt CANBUS


    Or should I just cut the wiring for the leccy windows out the of GSI loom and splice it into my original loom

    I HAVENT FITTED ANY LOOM YET!!!!!!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    12vMatt's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    1,465
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    loads of people have changed the looms around - there shouldnt be a problem
    Flame Red 2002-02 Mk4 1.6 SXi RIP
    Flame Red 1997-R Corsa 1.4 8v
    Back in an Astra Silver 2000-X Mk4 CD 1.6 16v

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    robwillis69's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    404
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    gsi does not use canbus orange cable is for airbag system...!!

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •