Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: One for Autosparks perhaps

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    One for Autosparks perhaps

    Right been out playing with my GSi tonight. Decided that I wasnt overly keen on the Kenwood head unit that was in there, so decided to try one of the spare CDR500;s I have sitting. This is where the problem lies.

    Fitted one of the units and the stereo comes on but the MFD stays blank. If the radio security panel is removed it comes up on the top of the display saying "panel", however the lower section where the radio station etc. should be displayed is blank. Now I noticed prior to this that even when the old unit was switched off the lower section always stays blank (from memory the lower section should display the date when the headunit is switched off).

    So did a little investigating and found that the wiring on the multi-plug is slightly different. The lower 2 sections of the multi plug are all wired, but the top section (the bigger of the 3) has 2 section not wired in which looking at the wiring diagram on the rear of the headunits is required.

    Looking at the symbols one is marked DDL and the other has a pictue which looks like an umbarella on its side. Any idea if it can be wired with these units to work (as everything bar the display appears to work fine sound etc.), or should I look for an earlier unit?

    Can post pictures of the multi-plug and wiring diagrams onthe rear of the units tomorow if it helps.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Something sounds strange there

    First thing is the MK4 the the CDR500 probably comes from uses a 10 digit diaplay and the MK3 uses a 8 so this needs changing

    Turn on ignition, hold down presets 4 & 6, switch head unit on holding down
    the presets.. The display will then show which mode it's in. If you hold
    the presets down even longer it will change the display to the other mode
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Will give that a try tonight,
    Hopefully these pictures will show what I was talking about:

    Diagram on the top of the unit:


    Multi-plug (upside down in comparison to the diagram on the unit):

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Dave

    The umbrella as you put it is whats known as a earth symbol, this will be for the phone (where fitted of course) DDL is diagonstic link
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ah cool, so not required then, not had a chance to try and do as you said in your previous post, hopefully get a chance to do it when I put the new dash cluster in tonight.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Still no joy, which is a bit confusing as the later sports used the same CDR50 unit.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    With the radio unplugged is that bottom bit where the date is diaplayed still blank? Can you even access the date part for changing etc?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    With the headunit off both top and bottom parts work fine. Having the MFD it displays the outside temp etc.

    When the stereo is off top section reads Outside temp
    Lower section read 2.0 (for example).

    With the stereo on the top display is blank (lower section continues to work as it should). Only time anything is displayed in the upper part with the stereo on is if you remove the panel from the front of the stereo then it will display "Panel". Have checked the wiring from the headunit and also from the MFD display but theres no cut wires etc.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Try the same thing with 3 and 5 held. All this info is taken from http://www.migweb.co.uk/forums/ice-s...y-problem.html
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    DaveDempsey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    9,365
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Seriously dude your a ****ing legend. Buttons 3 & 5 changed from 10 to 8 and sure enough its works.

    Due you a pint or 2 now chief

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. any AutoSparks ?
    By Glasgow_Stu in forum Scotland Region
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-12-2009, 12:47

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •