Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Astra G Brake Balancing Valve

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Astra G Brake Balancing Valve -Solved (With Pics)

Hi folks - newbie here on the forum and thumbs up for a cracking site.

Anyway my question is about the rear brake balancing valve on my lovely little 1.2 16v Astra. Yes it is a 1.2!! (Opel) and yet its still nippy enough for its purpose at somewhere around 80 bhp. Real recession buster! I recently purchased this as a second car for herself having previously owned a 1.4 from new for around 6 years. Anyhow just had it checked over by local garage and all is well apart from a few niggles to be sorted out for which I have already gained a lot of info from this site. First and most important of these niggles is that apparently there is a spring missing from the brake balancing valve. I wondered is this a problem people have experienced as apparently this spring corrodes over time and eventually drops off. This I understand can cause the rear wheels to lock up under heavy braking as the braking force is no longer properly distributed from back to front.

Anyone had problems with this issue? How much for replacement spring and is it difficult to fit? Any photos of said annoyance as I hope to sort this out myself?

Status
    2170:01:06
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    welcome

no piccies I'm afraid, but it's just a thing on the rear floor pan that links to the rear axel with a spring. As you load the car up the body drops in relation to the axle and the valve adjusts the brake bias accordingly. People with lowered non abs cars take note ;

I can't see a spring listed seperatly, so it looks likes it's the whole valve job

MODULATOR, BRAKE,LOAD SENSING X12XE,Z12XE (IDENT CB), 90538301