Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Trip computer

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Souleh's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,219
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Trip computer

    Had a search and couldnt find much

    How much is it roughly to fit a TC to a car without one? I have a 1.8 SE1 coupe and would love to upgrade..

    Sorry if re-post but any help is appreciated

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Your car should have TC already, what people do to them is fit a TC switch to disable it
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Bubba's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,729
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think by TC he means Trip computer as noted in his title.

    I dont think it can be done as it needs a lot of extra sensors etc.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Souleh's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,219
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    TC For trip comp, not traction control, sorry lol

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    phil w's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,089
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Damn Bubba beat me to it lol

    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    Your car should have TC already, what people do to them is fit a TC switch to disable it
    He's confusing things a little TC as in trip computer , Not TC as we all know it (that's traction control Souleh ),
    Fitting a trip computer would work realy expensive and not for the faint hearted , I'm sure this has been asked a fair bit and I don't think anyone
    has done it to be honest

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    good point, should have put 2 and 2 together with the thread title

    It's possible in it's basic form for mpg etc but you need both the MFD and wiring attached to it

    Doubt many places would take on the job though unless they specilise in it
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Souleh's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,219
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thats alright, shame just

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Bubba's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,729
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    good point, should have put 2 and 2 together with the thread title

    It's possible in it's basic form for mpg etc but you need both the MFD and wiring attached to it

    Doubt many places would take on the job though unless they specilise in it
    What all would be needed just to get MPG figures on an x series engine?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The wiring from the new MFD has to be hard wired to the car with extra wires going to the ECU, instrument panel and all the engine sensor wires earthed out so they don't keep showing faults
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-11-2013, 15:47
  2. trip computer
    By mightym in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 12:16
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-11-2006, 19:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •