Thread: Radio - Steering Wheel connectivity?

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Question Radio - Steering Wheel connectivity?

Heya everyone.

For those who helped, the other day, thanks loads! Everything seems groovy with the new car now. The garage who fitted the new exhaust gave me some new rubber hangers for free, so I didnt need to find any in the end, and I'm keeping an ear out for the odd squesk on the brake, seems fine though.

I have another question though.

I'm still very new to cars, having always been a biker. If I'm looking at replacing the stereo, and kitting the beast out with a decent sound system, will hooking up the steering wheel radio controls going to add to the cost? I'm assuming it will just be an adapter of some sort needed.

Also, anyone got any suggestions on sound equipment and a few easy mods to get me going?

Car is a MK4 1999 1.8 Sport.

Cheers again.

Dave
    Drives: Astra Sport 1.8 16v Mk4
    Rides: Honda CB400SF (grey import)

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeh to make the steering wheel controls work you will need a couple of parts from Autoleads / Halfords. The main adaptor needed is a PC99-X06 to adapt the cars wiring and make the steering wheel controls compatible. This lead is generally £29.99. You will also need an adaptor depending on what stereo you purchase - PC99-ALP = alpine, PC99-SON = sony, PC99-PIO = pioneer, PC99-BLA = blaupunkt, PC99-CLA = clarion, PC99-JVC = JVC, PC99-KEN = kenwood. This lead will be about £4.99.

Be aware that some stereos arent steering wheel control compatible, this is generally stereos under £70 or so.. So make sure it is before you purchase it, in Halfords the store ticket shows a picture of a steering wheelif it is compatible.