Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: swapping clocks?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    5853moore's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    3,194
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    swapping clocks?

    i am gettin a new set of 140mph dials for my astra but atm i ogt a set of 130mph noes ?


    i was just wondering what need doin to make the speed the same etc ?????



    mike


    and its 1.4 16v R reg if this helps lol
    Back in an astra and loving it

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    NickW's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,657
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    not alot you can do. Just make sure the dials are the same to 130mph then have the 140mph added on after! Does that make sence! LOL
    You Can Sleep In Your Car But You Can't race Your House!

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    PiNiOn's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Correct me if I m wrong, but when you fit a new(unused) instrument panel, you have to program it first, and the parameters it asks for is the engine type and the wheel dimensions. Note: It can't be reprogrammed in case it exceeds 300miles on the clock.

    So, if you want to fit a used one (which can't be reprogrammed), given that the tachometer is electrical and calibrated according to the wheel's diameter, I don't think you should or cound do anything, given that your car's wheels have almost the same diameter as any other astra (at least close enough). If all connections are the same and it does work, I guess it should read fine .
    Astra Mk4 3d X14XE / Midnight Black Z298

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You dont have to do a single fecking thing

    Just follow the how-to for removing the binnacle if you dont know how - fit new set then get on with life

    DONE

Similar Threads

  1. Swapping to Van!!!
    By Glowstone in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2013, 19:10
  2. 140mph clocks on a car originally with 160mph clocks
    By Nicko_12345 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-01-2012, 21:14
  3. Swapping my 1.6t for a VXR, would you?
    By nickfearn in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-06-2009, 15:22

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •