Thread: Astra G Electric Mirrors

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Post Astra G Electric Mirrors

My apologies if I seem thick, but I am new to this scene. I recently bought a low mileage Astra Club 8v 1.6 on an X / 2000 plate. I am trying to bling it up abit. I've fitted decent alloys, and I am in the process of changing the dials etc to blue led's as the car is a metalic blue.

I've recently purchases some aftermarket M3 style door mirrors which have LED indicator repeaters or Blue LED's in the mirror housing. They're also manual or electric, and I'd like to make them elctrically operated. I have the space in the door card for the switches, and having read a few of the forums, I understand that there might be a chance that the wires might be already in the door for the mirrors??? If they're not, I understand that I can buy the door looms; I've just spoken with my local Vauxhall dealer who to be honest thought I was some sort of nut case!!

Has anyone attempted this on a 'club' spec vehicle, and is it easier or harder than I think? I'm reasonably conversant with what I think I have to do, but I didn't want to have to start putting in wires etc if there is an easy way to do this mod.

Has anyone fitted this type of mirror before? Are the indicator repeaters in the mirrors easy to wire in? I understand that I need to take a feed from the wing repeaters?

Any help or advice anyone can give would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers

Status
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Take the drivers door panel off and check for unused connectors up by the mirror and down where the switch goes. If you haven't got them check for extra wires in the door grommet and for terminals on both sides of the electric mirror fuses

There's a high chance there's no wiring in there at all for the mirrors