Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: PC problems - screen resolution.

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)

    PC problems - screen resolution.

    I don't use my desktop PC very much, turned it on yesterday (to put a Christmas album on my iPod) and as normal left it to download any Windows Updates that may be available to keep it up to date.

    After the updates had finished......it doesn't work!

    Now when i turn it on, the monitor doesn't like the resolution that the PC is trying to use and just gives me an error box telling me what the preferred resolution is.

    I know how to change the screen resolution, however at the moment i can't turn it on and see the PC display. Would starting it in Safe Mode "get me in"

    Unfortunately my limited PC ability means....can anyone help me out?


  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Bubba's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,729
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Are you getting anything when booting up, ie the post? If so what you should do is press F8 before it tries to load windows and boot up in VGA mode, from here set the correct resolution and reboot.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    I'm getting nothing when booting up. The monitor just shoe the resolution error.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Bubba's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,729
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Resolution error might just be a generic error for the monitor when it isn't receiving any input at all, have you checked all your cables and tried the monitor on something else or used another monitor on your pc? It sounds like the pc might not be POSTing which indicates some sort of hardware problem with the computer itself.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    I disconnected the monitor cable, and get the No input signal on screen.

    I'll try a different monitor tomorrow.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Andy_888's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4,465
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Strange that your not seemingly getting anything before the windows stages

    Is your graphics card built onto the motherboard or seperate?
    888 Coupe - The original and best!
    For sale - 1x Kidney, Slightly abused by alcohol
    £45,000 or Part Ex for VXR8 Bathurst-S

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    Go into safe mode and roll back the driver for the graphics card under device manager.

    Restart and your away. I'll expect a cheque in the post for my services





    Note to Keith... If Microsoft made graphics drivers .......
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Andy_888's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    4,465
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Jam if its showing nothing on boot then getting into safe mode may be a tad tricky
    888 Coupe - The original and best!
    For sale - 1x Kidney, Slightly abused by alcohol
    £45,000 or Part Ex for VXR8 Bathurst-S

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Keif's Avatar
    Going Topless!
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Drives
    Astra 1.8 Twintop, Lotus Carlton, Meriva VXR and Nova
    Posts
    11,742
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jam View Post
    Go into safe mode and roll back the driver for the graphics card under device manager.

    Restart and your away. I'll expect a cheque in the post for my services





    Note to Keith... If Microsoft made graphics drivers .......
    I can't go into any mode, i don't get anything useful on the screen.....no cheque required then.

    Andy, i'm sure it's built in with the motherboard.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    jam's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Tamworth, Staffordshire
    Posts
    11,695
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Follow jam On Twitter
    My bad....


    Reading post 1 and hitting reply




    Keif are you getting nothing on boot up as in no POST or Bios Screen? Or did it never show the POST/Bios screen anyway?
    Its a jam thing

    Haec credam a deo pio, a deo justo, a deo scito?



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What Screen Resolution do you use...
    By MatG in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 21-01-2006, 02:01
  2. Your resolution on your computer screen..how many pixels?
    By MatG in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-11-2003, 15:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •