Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Moving the MFD - easy? And single-DIN mount?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    nry's Avatar
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25,986
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

    Moving the MFD - easy? And single-DIN mount?

    I'm guessing that the only thing to do when moving the MFD is to extend the wiring to reach the new location? I've had the MFD out to put LEDs in so the wiring looks simple enough to extend?

    Also, is there perhaps a single-DIN blanking plate that I could buy and modify to put the MFD either where the head unit normally goes or where the cubby hole is?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Ffoeg's Avatar
    2170:01:06
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    34,591
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yup it's just a case of extending the wires one at a time (so you don't guff it).

    not sure if the MFD will fit in a Din slot without chopping something up - it's quite high IIRC. but Glasgow Stu does blanking plates (if he has any left)

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i had shitloads of original harness on my MFD when i had it housed in the top DIN - fairly sure there was enough loom to locate it in the lower DIN too. iirc the loom came up from down there anyway

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I'm sure as GB says above the MFD wiring will reach anywhere in the centre console

    It's only when you move it further away like me that you have to extend every wire, about 30 I think for the fuel comp version....
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    nry's Avatar
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25,986
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    It looks like it'll fit in a single DIN housing unless I'm mistaken though?

    Also, anyone know if I can clip a wire somewhere so it shows time/date even when the head unit is in? All depends IF I change my HU and IF the new one doesn't work with the MFD, only the steering wheel controls...

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    red/white wire iirc but a search should provide the answer

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Maskell's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,489
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by nry View Post
    It looks like it'll fit in a single DIN housing unless I'm mistaken though?

    I have tried to fit it into a single DIN hole and it wouldn't fit easily! A little trimming and it fits fine


  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    nry's Avatar
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    25,986
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    I'm expecting a bit of a faff, just depends on all the plans coming together

    1) New centre console (£17 brushed steel/black finish one from Vauxhall)
    2) Sort a way to mount SatNav whilst hopefully being able to take it out to use in other cars
    3) Re-site the MFD

    In that order...maybe

Similar Threads

  1. moving a engine mount
    By crombie in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-09-2009, 00:31
  2. Single DIN sized gauge mount?
    By RobW in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21-07-2006, 20:32

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •