Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: changing clocks!!

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ads's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    changing clocks!!

    How hard is it to change the clocks (speedo rev counter) from a diesel astra G van to gsi clocks?? And would they still work??

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Mesiya's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    76
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    it wouldnt work, because the GSi clocks have a petrol rev counter and diffrent top speeds ect, plus im pretty sure you cant just change the clocks even if it were the same type of vehicle, due to mileage and stuff like that !

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorry but total bollocks

    they will work 100%

    the only problem youll have is that the GSi clocks redline at 7k whereas derv models top out at 6k - but seeing as u dont have a rev counter at present u wont notice the difference - just remember the redline is still 6k irrespective of what the new clocks say

    the gsi clocks MAY not have the glow plug light ready (ie LED'd up) so will not know until they are fitted but everything else will work as normal

    as for the "mileage and stuff like that" again total pants - Im onto my 5th set of clocks now - u can change clocks & mileage as much as u like - the only problem comes resale time and if u "fail" to advise a potential new owner of the mileage discrepency

    as for changing clocks - fairly easy - just a bit of a faff on getting the clocks orientated in the right angle to pull them out through the wheel.....but fear not ...... help is at hand

    Enjoy: http://www.astraownersclub.com/documents/technical/binnacle.pdf

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    knoxvillain's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    680
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I thought you could get the mileage on the clock adjusted via tech2?
    No longer an astra owner

    Now a Vectra owner

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    5W4NN7's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    543
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by knoxvillain View Post
    I thought you could get the mileage on the clock adjusted via tech2?
    You can, just georgie to lazy just jokin
    But yes you can but as above thres not really much point if your changing them as much as georgie.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by 5W4NN7 View Post
    You can, just georgie to lazy just jokin
    But yes you can but as above thres not really much point if your changing them as much as georgie.
    check the location!!!!! Geordie not Georgie

    AND sorry to piss on ur fire but although TECH2 can adjust ur mileage - they can only do adjustments on clocks with 99 miles or less on them - so in practise that rules out the majority of owners....

    Best to check the small ads in the 'Trader and the likes "Mileage Correction Services" - stump up fifty of ur finest british pounds and someone will fiddle with an OBD change the EPROM and a couple of mins later - ur new mileage

    Some will require proof of actual mileage - some may just need a bit extra beer money

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    ads's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    27
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the gsi clocks MAY not have the glow plug light ready (ie LED'd up) so will not know until they are fitted but everything else will work as normal.

    so if they dont, what do i have to do? would all the other bits show up e.g engine management, handbrake and all that kind of stuff still work??

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    5W4NN7's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    543
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GeordieBandit View Post
    check the location!!!!! Geordie not Georgie
    Apologies

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah everything else will work. The glow plug light might work. Only time will tell. . . If it doesn't then either put up with it or look for some other clocks . . . . My advice tho, whack the GSi ones in

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Vauxhall16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    686
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hey guys. Newcomer here.

    Just wondering if there are any members in the Essex area (preferably not too far from Clacton-On-Sea) that would be able to correct my mileage on my new dials?

    Any help would be greatly welcomed, just name a price

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Changing clocks..
    By Anthony1.6 in forum Interior
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-11-2008, 07:37

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •