Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Spark plug gap?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Spark plug gap?

    I appreciate this is often asked but I couldnt find a conclusive answer or at least a good consensus of opinon

    My Denso IK24s finally arrived today (only took 10days from an ebay seller claiming to be in UK - package came from Malaysia of all places )

    anyway I planned on running 0.6mm gap - the packagins says they are pre-set at 0.4 but this aint quite true - more like 0.7

    Engine still running standard map but 230bhp - see my garage for everything as easier than listing what i have.

    will probs be mapped within next 4months

    so what gap would u recommend and what are u running/power/map etc

    Thanks in advance folks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe John's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Drives
    Astra 1.9 cdti xpack
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    2,593
    Mentioned in
    17 Post(s)
    Quoted
    61 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by GeordieBandit View Post
    I appreciate this is often asked but I couldnt find a conclusive answer or at least a good consensus of opinon

    My Denso IK24s finally arrived today (only took 10days from an ebay seller claiming to be in UK - package came from Malaysia of all places )

    anyway I planned on running 0.6mm gap - the packagins says they are pre-set at 0.4 but this aint quite true - more like 0.7

    Engine still running standard map but 230bhp - see my garage for everything as easier than listing what i have.

    will probs be mapped within next 4months

    so what gap would u recommend and what are u running/power/map etc

    Thanks in advance folks

    .8 gap on standard map works perfect any smaller could cause runing issues.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cheers for that

    whats everyone else running on std map?

    guess i better stop tryin to re-gap them then lol

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    kev007's Avatar
    Cumbrian RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just stick them in they will be fine.... Am running IK20 and i think the gap is .7 or.8...
    Where are the Cumbrian Members??
    Anyone Seen Them!

    Drives a Fiat Bravo 165 sport....

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah ive gapped them to 0.7 and fitting them first thing tomorrow - im hoping i can see a big difference as just had standard GMs in until now

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    kev007's Avatar
    Cumbrian RO
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,061
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    How do you re-gap them????
    Where are the Cumbrian Members??
    Anyone Seen Them!

    Drives a Fiat Bravo 165 sport....

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    grab a feeler gauge - i just bought one off ebay

    and tap the tip gently until u get the desired gap - either with the gauge fitted whilst u tap it or just keep checking

    thats how i did it anyway

    this is the one i bought http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Metric-FEELER-GUAGE-0-05-0-8-mm-by-Laser_W0QQitemZ310104457214QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_H and_Tools_Equipment?hash=item310104457214&_trksid= p3911.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1301|66%3A2|65%3A12|39 %3A1|240%3A1318

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    TurboManiak's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    262
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I'm not much into denso plugs as I'm a NGK fan but denso's page says you need the IK20's not the IK24's and you need them gapped 1,0mm.

    is this 24 like a colder plug or somthin, becouse if this is the case aint you going tooooo cold for a standard map?
    The only way to be 100% certain that work has been done properly is to do it yourself.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i know they say IK20 but i guess time will tell

    if they dont work i'll pop the old ones back in until i get it mapped

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Millen99's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,381
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I just bought a set of bosch super fours for mine as the iridiums were not performing after my stage 2 map. Hestitation and misfire at full throttle. Fitted the bosch's and now running smoothly again.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. spark plugs and spark plug number ????
    By phil2014 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19-07-2014, 02:45
  2. What spark plugs and spark plug number?
    By eyeopen in forum Chassis
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 01-07-2014, 23:32
  3. Spark Plug Gap
    By mond2k in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-05-2009, 22:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •