Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Ariel adapter

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Pearce69's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,246
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Ariel adapter

    Iv got an alpine head unit and the ariel didnt fit into the back so i got the adapter part and even this doesnt fit. The guy at halfords said that they come as a standard size so he couldnt help me, what can i do? Also my mate has the same prob in his veccy c, i think he has a ripspeed dvd player.
    Mk5 Red 1.9 CDTI

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    This is the correct adaptor, is it what you have?

    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    StevesAstra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,225
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    On alpines the aerial should just plug straight in without the need for an aerial adapter.

    You should have this coming from the car now :


    And that will just push straight onto the aerial connection for the alpine

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Pearce69's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,246
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    it looks like that yh, it was the one from halfords

    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s...Id_165626#dtab
    Mk5 Red 1.9 CDTI

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Pearce69's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,246
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by StevesAstra View Post
    On alpines the aerial should just plug straight in without the need for an aerial adapter.

    You should have this coming from the car now :


    And that will just push straight onto the aerial connection for the alpine
    Yep i have that, the only thing is taht it falls out all the time so i need an adapter to keep it held in.
    Mk5 Red 1.9 CDTI

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    StevesAstra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,225
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Unless you've posted in the wrong forum and you have a mk5

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    StevesAstra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,225
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Pearce69 View Post
    it looks like that yh, it was the one from halfords

    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/s...Id_165626#dtab
    You don't need that adapter.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Pearce69's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,246
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have a mk4, so why does my ariel just not stay in?
    Mk5 Red 1.9 CDTI

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    StevesAstra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,225
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Because the aerials on VX's are crap, join them together and wrap them in together with electrical tape, mine is held together by this method and has always worked fine.

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by StevesAstra View Post
    On alpines the aerial should just plug straight in without the need for an aerial adapter.

    You should have this coming from the car now :


    And that will just push straight onto the aerial connection for the alpine
    Good point, I forgot alpine headunits don't need a adaptor
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. freeview box ariel and OEM ariel
    By Glasgow_Stu in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-07-2008, 23:01
  2. Sony stalk adapter & alpine scc adapter lead
    By toyotacelicagt4 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2005, 17:42

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •