Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Removing Headunit Problems

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Shortyy's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Removing Headunit Problems

    Hey guys, I had just started to remove the CDR500 by taking out the grub screws till i found that some genius has put 1 grub screw in backwards (god knows how) so i dont really have a way of taking it out.
    Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Try turning in further so it falls out the back? if your not going to use the radio again, drill it out?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    dp88's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hartlepool, United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,988
    Mentioned in
    37 Post(s)
    Quoted
    18 Post(s)
    Take the glove box out (6 x screws) and then you can get at the cd player, and just pushes out :-)

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    munkie's Avatar
    AstraSport Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    4,922
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    But he will have the problems with the clips behind the grub screws

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    dp88's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Hartlepool, United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,988
    Mentioned in
    37 Post(s)
    Quoted
    18 Post(s)
    Hmmm, well mine just use to push out from behind (didnt have to take the grub screws out)

    Could always give it a try!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    astra mark's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Drives
    Astra Van 1.7 DTI
    Location
    Ashford, Kent.
    Posts
    4,738
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    With something so small i would try and drill it out, i never had them in mine.

    Mark

    MK4 Astra Van 1.7 DTI Sportive

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    MarkC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,813
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Well that is a first for me....

    Can you get any kind of grip on the grib screw..... If so try using small needle nose pliers to turn the screw anti-clockwise or mini mole grips.

    Failing that get an easy-out drill bit which has a reverse thread to grip a drilled pilot hole you will need to make.

    Or as mentioned drill a small hole in the midele of the screw, changes are it will grip the grub screw as you drill and will push it through the other side as the grub screws don't tighten to anything they are just there to fill the hole for the removal pins.

    Can you take a picture of it.....

    You wont be able to get to the back of it an push it out as the cage should be screwed to the bulkhead
    Hey YOU See Oooour Reeegin Noooo ! Toss Yer Caber Here


  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    phil w's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2,089
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You could try a dab of superglue on a small allen key or something to stick on the grub screw to undo it as it shouldn't be done up that tight

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Shortyy's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thanks for all the help guys. The thing that complicated matters is that the rear end of the grub screw looks like a normal screw, so it has a point at the end, meaning if i drilled it, the drill would have just circled the screw
    I resorted to pulling the headunit out with the 3pins i could use, and jimmying it with a screwdriver. The face of it came flying off, but atleast i could get to the holes loll (how they got the the screw in so far is beyond me, but i took it out backwards after i made the CDR500 a face-off hehe)

    Got it all out now, just wired everything up including the steering controls adaptor and it works great, only thing thats really annoyed me is the aerial connection is different, the car loom one is DIN i think (flat circley one), and the headunit one is the ISO one (the long tubiee type) so im guessing im going to have to buy the adapter tomorrow

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    MarkC's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    4,813
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    Glad you got it sorted.....
    Hey YOU See Oooour Reeegin Noooo ! Toss Yer Caber Here


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-11-2008, 17:25
  2. Removing Headunit
    By whitty in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-09-2003, 14:49

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •