Thread: Which bulbs to buy

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Which bulbs to buy

Hi im a newbie and got a 06 1.4sxi sporthatch.

Didnt get a manual with the car and was thinking of uprating the bulbs. Is it just simply pull the back out and replace or do you have to remove the whole headlight? And i dont know what bulb to buy, i.e h1, h4, h7. What do these all mean and wil anyone fit my car??

thnx

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    4 Post(s)
    Quoted
    11 Post(s)
    if u bought the car from a dealer id request a replacement manual and service book from them (otherwise its going to cost you, and lower the car price when you come to sell it).

in terms of bulbs it depends on which type u have.
    on my h 5dr i use h7 (dipped) and h1 (full) but unsure if its the same on the 3dr -- probably is tho.

and no you cant just replace the bulbs with any one,
    h1 - 1pin
    h4 - 3pin
    h7 - 2pin

so they wont plug into the bulb holder. You can just about get to the bulbs with the headlight in place. to replace the dipped beam u have to go from the wheel arch. if u have a look youll see a small doorway which u unclip to gain access. on full beam u can go straight in from under the bonnet.

last thing make sure you get 55w watt bulbs and not the 100w ones. 1st of all the 100w are illegal to use as they are showlights and 2nd'ly it will cause a problem with the canbus system as it will come up that the bulb is drawing too much power and shut them down

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi,

I've just uprated the bulbs in mine. There was a pair of H7's and also a pair of H1's. I used the halfords website to find out what was in the car --- > Clicky

They are also on BOGOF at the moment so I went for the +90% ones.