Thread: 1.7Dti tuning, what next?

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

1.7Dti tuning, what next?

Hey guys! New to this site and new to the tuning world so im after a bit of advice.
    Drive an '01 Astra 1.7 Dti that has a 2" powerflow turbo back exhaust, derestricted airbox with panel filter and a remap so estimate it to be sitting round 110-115bhp with no smoke.

What i want to know is what can be done next to reliably take the power up that little bit more. Any gain with changing intercoolers? Possible to fit turbo off a 2.0dti (if its any different to 1.7)? Anything else???

As i said im new to this stuff so be gentle with me lol

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    115hp is about the limit of the engine. Any more you'll be trashing the gearbox and clutch.

The turbo off the 2.0DTi is totally, totally different so that's not a goer.

All that said, though, if you had someone with the know-how to map in a variable vane turbo, you could fit the turbo and manafold off the new 1.7CDTi out of the Corsa D SRi - they're 125hp standard and basically the same lump only with the modern variable vane turbo. I'd recon you should get well over 140hp if you don't mind a little reek.
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Where abouts did you get your car remapped??

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ZS View Post
    115hp is about the limit of the engine. Any more you'll be trashing the gearbox and clutch.

The turbo off the 2.0DTi is totally, totally different so that's not a goer.