Thread: Need new exhaust (back box) and brakes.....advice please :)

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

Need new exhaust (back box) and brakes.....advice please :)

hello!

i took my astra to Kwikfit to get a quick oil change and new filter before a long drive, last minute thing.

when it was up in the air, the mechanics said that'd i'd need a new back box soon as the second skin(?) has gone rusty and may get a big ol' hole soon.

to go along with this good news they also said i need new brake discs/rotors. they do look tired i suppose!

anyway, they quoted me something in the region of £YIKES for the lot.

now i;m a very poor student and the quote they gave me sounded like it was wayyyy OTT, but i'm no mechanic so i just don't know.

so from experience: how much should a new back box, and new brake discs and pads all round (drums on rear....can i upgrade these to discs? that'd be awesome!) cost+ fitting and where should i go?

incase the info is required:

the car is a 2001 Y reg Vauxhall Astra Envoy, 1.6 8v with 4 stud wheels.

thanks in advance.
    404 error - witty signature not found

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If money is tight and the back box isnt blowing i would hold off on replacing it, the second skin fell off my backbox as it was rusted to pieces and i drove with it like that for about 8 months before putting a irmscher backbox on, the original was still ok but i wanted a better one. It also passed and MOT with no second skin.

Status
    AOC Regular
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    blowing! thats the weird word the little spanish man kept saying about it, apparently its not blowing but it could soon (months, not weeks)

my MOT is due for 11 nov.

so any ideas about brakes? costs etc?

thanks for your reply

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)