Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Distance to empty? can i find out?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Ginn L's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Distance to empty? can i find out?

    Hi there, i just wanted to ask is their a way i can find out how many miles i have in my petrol tank whilst driving?
    Ive been pressin buttons in my car several times but i cant seem to find anything, and the mileage clock doesnt change apart from reset the journey miles.

    Ive read the manual and on page 34 it shows the dash display with the time, temperature then the range.
    How can i do this? can i on my model?

    BTW im not sure wether i can even do it on my car, but i thought it wouldnt hurt asking.

    I have a mk5 1.4 if that helps.
    Help would be great. Cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Online
    Windrew's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Golborne, Wigan, United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,637
    Mentioned in
    2 Post(s)
    Quoted
    5 Post(s)
    you cant on that model, and the range you get depends relly upon how you drive it?
    ARDEN BLUE GSI

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Ginn L's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Windrew View Post
    you cant on that model, and the range you get depends relly upon how you drive it?
    Nah i didnt think i could, and yeh the only reason i asked is i wanted to see how much my fuel reserve is or roughly how many miles, i think its about 30 but not too sure.
    Not to worry anyways, just thought id ask
    Cheers

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    UKOBD's Avatar
    Discounting trader
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    52
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Ginn L View Post
    Nah i didnt think i could, and yeh the only reason i asked is i wanted to see how much my fuel reserve is or roughly how many miles, i think its about 30 but not too sure.
    Not to worry anyways, just thought id ask
    Cheers
    YOu can do it with a ScanGauge, and then get the AOC discount if you are a paid up member

    Gareth
    UKOBD
    Gareth
    UKOBD

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Sarah1986's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    195
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yeah you can do it, ive got a 1.2 mk5 and i can do it on mine.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    ZS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,491
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Sarah1986 View Post
    Yeah you can do it, ive got a 1.2 mk5 and i can do it on mine.
    I guess with a 1.2 you need info like that, so you can find a petrol station that's not up a hill.

    Depends on the model of the car, not the engine size though, as to what functions if any you have on the dash.
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Ginn L's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    112
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by UKOBD View Post
    YOu can do it with a ScanGauge, and then get the AOC discount if you are a paid up member

    Gareth
    UKOBD
    Wow thanks a lot, i didnt know u could even buy something to add which would do that, and i was meant to make me member a few weeks ago but my money hasnt transfered into my paypal.
    Cheers for the link, great help

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    tillyastra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,331
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    have a look on the scanguage site, superb bit of kit, got mine thursday and fitted into dash friday, does lots of things
    heres a pic in my mk 4

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Andy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned in
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    would be better to just find out if your car (depending on model/and the type of stereo/display) can have the onboard computer turned on by vauxhall,

    then could just cost £30-40 and have loads of functions on the original display?
    Drives - 08 Astra SRi XP 1.9CDTi 150

    Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

  10. #10
    kr00zin_uk
    kr00zin_uk's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy View Post
    would be better to just find out if your car (depending on model/and the type of stereo/display) can have the onboard computer turned on by vauxhall,

    then could just cost £30-40 and have loads of functions on the original display?
    Sorry to hi-jack, but could I do that on my MK 4?

    It doesn't have the onboard computer and I didn't think I could get it to work. Would I need to upgrade any of the standard equipment? Or do I just need to ask a Vauxhall dealer to switch that bad boy on?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Alarm Key Fob Distance
    By Jon G in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 04-10-2005, 17:53
  2. Parking distance sensors??
    By Steve in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 21-01-2004, 10:56

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •