Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Wiring fogs to main beam

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    dan_van's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Wiring fogs to main beam

    I know for a fact that I saw this explained and tried all sorts to find the post but had no luck.
    Can someone please explain how to do this and without starting an argument tell me if this is legal on not!? I had this conversation with someone and they were telling me I'm a fool for thinking about doing it as it would be illegal, but surely there is no problem with it as you wont be blinding anyone as you wouldn't have main beam on anyway if someone was driving towards you.

    The reason for wanting to do this is that I sometimes work shifts and finish at half 2 in the morning (hardly anyone on the roads at that time), its country roads 95% of the way with a regular family of deer around and plenty of badgers, I hit one of them in my last car .
    There is the option of getting a HID kit but thats abit expensive for what I want at the moment, maybe in the future

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    liam-21's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    444
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    do you all ready have fog lights?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    dan_van's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah, I read something about putting a relay in so that the fogs come on when you flick main beam on... the relay was so that when it is actually foggy, you can put the fogs on with dipped beam iirc

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    totalclosure do a kit. But IIRC its only a couple of relays + wiring and connectors.

    Like you say it has been covered before, will try to find it.
    Here http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...=total+closure

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    liam-21's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    444
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    might sound daft but is it not just easyer to push the buttom when u need them?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by liam-21 View Post
    might sound daft but is it not just easyer to push the buttom when u need them?
    Not if you need to quickly flick them off when a car comes around a corner.

    Is also handy if you have HID's in your main beam as they aren't brilliant at flashing.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    dan_van's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks buckle and yes you're right, thats the problem when someone comes, it's one thing flicking your main beam with the left hand and then having to use your right to try and find the switch for the fogs. asking for trouble

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Stevie1556's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    780
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You need a 5 pin changover relay at about 30 amps with a fused live at 15amps.

    I got all the bits (ready to expand my auto closure website), built them nicely into boxes etc, and then found out that I bought the wrong bleeding relays :@

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    dan_van's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    looking at that thread, where is the best place to do all the wiring as one person says at fuse box and another says behind the glovebox? think I saw in the engine bay aswell!?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    dan_van's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    oh dear stevie lol sounds quite simple if you have half an idea, just a case of finding the cables to cut into and where to put the fuse etc my dads a sparky but he was the one I had the discussion with so he refused to help... think he got confused and thought I wanted them on when the dipped beam was on, but once he got it stuck in his head he wouldnt listen.

    Be a laugh to see his face if I do it myself, with the advice of you guys

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Wire Fogs To Main Beam?
    By Turbo_Scott in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 16-08-2005, 12:59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •