Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: running rich

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    digger's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    running rich

    any idea of what can cause it and how to fix it? ta

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    digger's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    been reading some threads and i take it that the problem will be the lambda sensor but which 1? the 1 before or after the cat ?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    digger's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    some input please

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    digger's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    bump

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    techsteve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,046
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Impatient Bugger ain't you Causes for running rich could be coolant temp sensor / air flow meter / lamda sensor faulty, depending on what model, engine car you have. You need to get it checked out with diagnostics to see if you have any codes, check the afm / lamda sensor readings to find whats at fault
    HIGHDOWN Car Audio & Security
    Clifford, Genesis, Rockford, CDT Audio

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    digger's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    [quote=techsteve;1488038]Impatient Bugger ain't you


    yes i am its the 2.2 hatch 2001. there is no eml's on, but i was getting 400 to a tank now im getting 340 and my backbox is black soot

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    techsteve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,046
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    As above, get it checked out on diagnostics first
    HIGHDOWN Car Audio & Security
    Clifford, Genesis, Rockford, CDT Audio

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    digger's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    383
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    well it was on tech 2 and emisions were checked and all was fine....
    so why am i losing 6miles per gallon according to consumption. but the tank says its 60miles per tank?????

Similar Threads

  1. running rich
    By wiseman in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-03-2013, 17:58
  2. running rich
    By celticrsmith in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29-09-2007, 19:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •