Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How too get cables through firewall into cockpit

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    SteveMK4's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,106
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    How too get cables through firewall into cockpit

    Hey!

    For the next project I need to run 2 small wires from the engine bay into the small drivers cubbyhole/fusebox in the dash.

    Any easy way of getting them through? any advice accepted!

    Cheers,
    Steve
    Quote Originally Posted by coupe turbo
    lag is a thing which warns me get ready for action.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    a Drill bit would be the order of the day

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    SteveMK4's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,106
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dannysport18 View Post
    a Drill bit would be the order of the day
    Oh dear!

    Are there not any holes and cable routes already there that i can get to?
    Quote Originally Posted by coupe turbo
    lag is a thing which warns me get ready for action.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    bucky's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,179
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    iirc theres quite a few little holes, just a case of removing glove box and pushing random gromets till one pops through.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Bludshot's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,944
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    When i wired my Amp's power cable in, i just removed the glove box, and drilled straight through the back. easy peasy.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    StevesAstra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,225
    Mentioned in
    3 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    If the car is fly by wire there is a handy little grommet above the accelerator (where a throttle cable would go) which is ideally placed for the cubby hole.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    SteveMK4's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,106
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by StevesAstra View Post
    If the car is fly by wire there is a handy little grommet above the accelerator (where a throttle cable would go) which is ideally placed for the cubby hole.
    That would be perfect, thanks for all the suggestions! will let you know how the search goes!
    Quote Originally Posted by coupe turbo
    lag is a thing which warns me get ready for action.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    SteveMK4's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,106
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveMK4 View Post
    That would be perfect, thanks for all the suggestions! will let you know how the search goes!
    Found it! Cheers mate! Got the cables through nice!
    Quote Originally Posted by coupe turbo
    lag is a thing which warns me get ready for action.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    dan_van's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    make sure you seal it up well as the previous owner of mine didn't and rain kept getting in, sorted with a generous amount of silicone

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    SteveMK4's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,106
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by dan_van View Post
    make sure you seal it up well as the previous owner of mine didn't and rain kept getting in, sorted with a generous amount of silicone
    Heh cheers mate. I haven't yet. makes a din in the car at idle now as well. Cant get the rubber thing back in the bugger.

    Will have to have another go when I get a chance. Don't think its letting rain in.....yet.
    Quote Originally Posted by coupe turbo
    lag is a thing which warns me get ready for action.

Similar Threads

  1. cockpit
    By zucsri in forum Car Care and Detailing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-01-2008, 15:33
  2. STP cockpit cleaner
    By jammy in forum Car Care and Detailing
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-05-2006, 01:09

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •