Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: CD30 MP3 Remote lead??

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    jimmy66's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    CD30 MP3 Remote lead??

    I have been searching the internet high and low to figure this out...

    I'm trying to wire an amp to my CD30 HU.
    The problem is I can't find a power source to run the remote lead from.

    I know there have been several posts about this and i've tried them all!

    One post suggests i run it from the ciggy lighter...
    however this is a constant power source which means the amp would stay on all of the time.

    Does anyone know if there is a power source behind the HU that i can use?
    If not, could I run it straight from the fuse box? if so, which wire?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Paul's Avatar
    Ex-Astra Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    12,861
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I think there is an adaptor lead you can buy that lets you run the sub and amp from the standard headunit.

    Could be wrong though so best to await autosparks or Basils response, they know their ICE

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Paul's Avatar
    Ex-Astra Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    12,861
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Here you go check out this thread and the threads posted in it:

    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/sh...d.php?t=154567

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    jimmy66's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I have read about these adapters.
    I already have the amp working though, using a line to RCA adapter.

    The only problem is the remote.

    To get round it i've got a live 12v cable and the remote lead loose in my glove box, when i connect the two together the amp comes on - bit dodgy i know hence the thread!

    I know i could put in a switch but i'm sure i'd forget to switch it off!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Paul's Avatar
    Ex-Astra Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    12,861
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ah right i see, sorry mis-understood your first post.

    My electrical knowledge is shocking so i haven't got an idea, best wait for the ICE gurus to surface

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    jimmy66's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cool thanx mate.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    On there headunit there will be a unused pin labled "AR" in the power block. This gives a remote out
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    jimmy66's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've checked the head unit and there is no AR.
    Just to confirm, it's a CD30 MP3

    All i've got is:
    12v +
    Ground
    CE +
    CE -
    AA - No pin though
    PH +
    PH -
    Speakers

    Another thread also suggested I could use the yellow wire next to the 12v+ (CE+ i think) but this doesn't work either.

    I've also tried another suggestion from a thread I read which was to use the red cable going to the back of the AC. But again no luck.
    I really don't want to have to butcher anymore wires!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    BasilD's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    2,850
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jimmy66 View Post
    I have been searching the internet high and low to figure this out...

    I'm trying to wire an amp to my CD30 HU.
    The problem is I can't find a power source to run the remote lead from.

    I know there have been several posts about this and i've tried them all!

    One post suggests i run it from the ciggy lighter...
    however this is a constant power source which means the amp would stay on all of the time.

    Does anyone know if there is a power source behind the HU that i can use?
    If not, could I run it straight from the fuse box? if so, which wire?

    Thanks!
    Constant behind the ciggy lighter well then you have the wrong wire. It is not the plug that goes to the accessory 12V socket but the little plug that is taped up near it. If you have the smokers pack this plug goes into the light to light up the ciggy bit. It consists of two thin wires and one is earth the other is Switched 12V.

    You can also use one of the wires behind the aircon or the hazzrd switch as documented in the How to on this forum. Alternatively you can use AR if your radio has this (which yours does not).

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    jimmy66's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I don't know if i have the smokers pack?
    I have a ciggy lighter and an ashtray, both of which are completely covered.

    When i took the tray out I had a red and a brown lead going to the socket, next to that was a single lead going to the light (i think it must use the ground from the socket as they're positioned right next to each other). I tried this but i think it only comes on when the lights are on.

    The only other thing attached (much further down the leads) was what looked like a 12 pin plug (quite small), it only has 4 pins attached. I have tried each one of them in turn but still no luck.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. cd30 mp3 aux lead
    By chozie in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-04-2011, 20:26
  2. remote lead!
    By akcorbin in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-08-2007, 18:52

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •