Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 96 astra cutting out/not starting

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    andraki's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    96 astra cutting out/not starting

    Hello!
    I've just brought a 1996 astra montana 1.4 petrol. (43000 miles)
    On a test drive we pulled over to swap drivers so I could give it a drive, when the engine stopped while it was ideling and wouldn't start. It was thought that this was due to the engine being steam cleaned, and there was evidence of water in the engine bay. "Anyway" WD40 later and we were away!
    Brought the car and the next day it started fine, ticks over lovely, drove to work really nice, and then home time came and it wouldn't start. It doesn't even try, then all of a sudden it will start and run normally. I started it up on my drive this morning and left it ticking over. After a miniute it stopped, restarted it, 1 miniute later it stopped. 3rd time was OK. Just been out in the car tonight and initial startup was fine but stopped of at a couple of friends and the car struggled to start again! even and for the first time cutting out completley while pulling away after resarting..
    There was a build up of rubbish in the HT cap which was cleaned off. The plugs look good but are a bit white.
    I just don't know whether it's electrical or fuel related!
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.......

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    buster's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,368
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    give a quick mini service plugs filters etc

    is it the spi or mpi injection system?
    1.8 16v 99 T plate.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    andraki's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As far as I'm aware it's an spi. Have to get a haynes manual.
    I've just changed the plugs, air filter, distributer cap, and rotar arm.
    I'm about to try it out!

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    andraki's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Ere we go again

    "Well" I tried it last sunday and it worked. Until thursday when a little blip when I was driving to work. OK I thought maybe it just needs a bit of a tune,
    friday, took a few more turns of the engine to start after work, OK I thought
    it may be that tune it needs, then today, sunday.... Driving to macdonalds, as you do on a sunday, doing about 50mph the car dies for about 10 seconds.
    No warning lights on the dashboard "ie engine management light" Infact there were no lights. Then the car just started up again just as I was about to pull over.. Got to Macdonalds fine, got home fine, went to comets later fine,
    got in the car to go to the seaside and the thing would not start again! Two miniutes later all back to normal.....
    What ever the problem is, Changing the plugs, distributer cap & rotar arm seem to fix it for nearly a week, but now it seems to be returning to the way it was before! ANY IDEAS?

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    andraki's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Angry Coil lead shocker

    I went to get an HT lead set from halfords,
    but the set doesn't come with a coil lead,
    and they dont have a part number for a coil lead! What's the point in trying to replace the HT leads when it might be the coil lead that's at fault?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    andraki's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Hello to me

    I know I'm talking to myself but I thought I would just tell myself that today I brought a coil and a amp module. Let me see..............

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    techsteve's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,046
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by andraki View Post
    I know I'm talking to myself but I thought I would just tell myself that today I brought a coil and a amp module. Let me see..............
    Strangely enough, i was just about to suggest changing them, used to be a common problem with the mk3's, changed quite a few over the years
    HIGHDOWN Car Audio & Security
    Clifford, Genesis, Rockford, CDT Audio

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    andraki's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Yeeeehaaaaa!

    "Touch wood"
    It looks like it was the coil or the amp module.......

Similar Threads

  1. My Astra Estate keeps cutting out on starting :(
    By Billers in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-02-2013, 13:13
  2. Astra DTI 1.7 starting and cutting out
    By tmark891 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-11-2009, 19:27

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •