Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: cant do paperclip test on my astra, theres a pin missing?????

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    leecobla's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Exclamation cant do paperclip test on my astra, theres a pin missing?????

    iv read up on this paperclip test to read the diagnestic flashing code.
    opened the panel below handbrake to bridge the pins but one of the terminals im supposed to bridge is missing from the plug.

    anyone else come across this problem????

    cheers. lee.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Spedo's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    848
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Your vehicles is not suitable for the paper clip test if pin 6 is missing. Unfortunatly, you will have to do a diagnostic.

    spedo

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    ZS's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    9,491
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If it's the 2.0DTi, you'll likely have to get it Tech2'ed, as they're not OBD-II complaint.
    2007 Metro Blue 5 door Mk5 Elite 1.7CDTI
    6th Vauxhall (4th Astra) in 10 years...plus a couple of other sheds...

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    leecobla's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    7
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah, its the 2.0 DTI. looks like ill have to get it plugged in to the vaux' comp'.

    thanks for the replies lads.

    lee.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Plant's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Paperclip test?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Spedo's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    848
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    By using a paper clip shoved into in pin 6 and earhing it out you can generate the ECU to pass stored info by the way of the flashes to the dashboard MIL to determin the fault code.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Plant's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Sorry, I don't understand still.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Spedo's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    848
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Find the data connector (flap under the handbrake) there will be 16 or 15 pins, if you have 16 pins good you can use pin 6 to do the test. If you have 15 your screwed.

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    leeeeshad's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Plant View Post
    Sorry, I don't understand still.
    read this http://www.topbuzz.co.uk/info/fault_...ault_codes.htm
    Mk4 3 door sxi

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Plant's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    181
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. astra f gsi paperclip test
    By mr.c72 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16-03-2007, 18:55
  2. Paperclip test on astra x18xe1 (simtec 70) ???
    By Amarildo in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-04-2006, 20:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •