Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Turbo Timer Not timing;

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Rich Gsi Turbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    N.wales
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Turbo Timer Not timing;

    Fiited a turbo timer- but it dosn't do what it says on the tin;

    I basically turn off my car and only once the engine has turned off that the timer starts to count; any ideas?

    Any suggestions appreciated;

    Rich

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The engine stops running but the turbo timer still counts down? Wrong ignition feed taken from the barrell, there are 2
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Rich Gsi Turbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    N.wales
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    The engine stops running but the turbo timer still counts down? Wrong ignition feed taken from the barrell, there are 2
    Yes thats it- so i need to get another feed from the ignition barrell? the one i've taken displayed

    0v no key
    0v 1 click
    12v 2click
    12v run

    The other was a fat black one - 12v permanent live;

    what do you suggest?

    thanx

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    You neen a wire that is live on the 2nd click and also stays live while you turn the key to crank. This will also be a black wire just to confuse things
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Rich Gsi Turbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    N.wales
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    You neen a wire that is live on the 2nd click and also stays live while you turn the key to crank. This will also be a black wire just to confuse things
    Ok thanx, will have to give it a go 2morrow; my dad wasn't keen on me tapping into the live so he made me use bullet connectors (more hassle) , he said that the wire looked heavy and needs a decent connection. Well its pretty damn stiff now coz of all the playing about with wire- wish i would have done it while he was in work!

    Thanx a lot- will let you kno how it goes 2moz!

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Rich Gsi Turbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    N.wales
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    had a look for the 2nd black wire u were talking about- the one that remains live untill the key is removed from the barrel; no luck

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    There is one wire live all the time
    One will be live on the first turn
    Two more will become live on the 2nd turn
    One of the 2 above will go out when you crank the engine over, the one that stays on is the one you want

    Trust me i've wired a few of these up and they have worked fine
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Rich Gsi Turbo's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    N.wales
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    problem sorted, many thanx guys; MOD CAN YOU PLEASE CLOSE THIS THREAD

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    chr15astra's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,588
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    once you got the wires sorted how hard was it to do

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    How did you sort it incase anyone else has the problem in the future?
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •