Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: 'Brake Pad' still on after changing pads?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    C9SRi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,694
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question 'Brake Pad' still on after changing pads?

    changed the front discs and pads on my coupe, and the trip computer is still saying check pads when i switch the car on... is there a way to reset it?

    also, when i was putting the pad level sensors back into the new pads, they didnt fit very well? can you buy new ones?

    cheers chris
    Star Silver Astra Coupe Turbo

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Linea's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    974
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by C9SRi View Post
    changed the front discs and pads on my coupe, and the trip computer is still saying check pads when i switch the car on... is there a way to reset it?

    also, when i was putting the pad level sensors back into the new pads, they didnt fit very well? can you buy new ones?

    cheers chris
    The sensors probably had it. Just phone your VX dealer and ask them for two new ones, they usualy carry alot in stock as they need replacing quite often when you disturb them!
    Astra Coupe - Linea Rossa

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    C9SRi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,694
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Linea View Post
    The sensors probably had it. Just phone your VX dealer and ask them for two new ones, they usualy carry alot in stock as they need replacing quite often when you disturb them!
    am i right in thinking the sensors are the little 'plug' things that you hook into the pads through the middle of the caliper?
    Star Silver Astra Coupe Turbo

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Linea's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    974
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by C9SRi View Post
    am i right in thinking the sensors are the little 'plug' things that you hook into the pads through the middle of the caliper?
    Yeah, buth they are attached to the cable that run all round your arch, so you get all of that as its one unit! they arent that expensive tbh!
    Astra Coupe - Linea Rossa

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Mark_W's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,462
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I am sure that once the sensor gets set off, they then need replacing

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    johnsastra16v's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    2,163
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    chris, do you have a link to pics of your old sri?
    wanna check out how low it was

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    C9SRi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,694
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by johnsastra16v View Post
    chris, do you have a link to pics of your old sri?
    wanna check out how low it was
    send me a pm with your email and il send you some
    Star Silver Astra Coupe Turbo

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    autoSRI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    2,635
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    when the light comes one the sensor has had it as it breaks the link between the two wires

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    lee gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Posts
    17,757
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    For now to put the warning light off join the 2 wires together.
    The truth is always the truth even if you haven't realised it yet...

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Jonesy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    4,602
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    anyone got a part number for the actual sensors?
    Regal Phase 3.5,VXR Turbo,VXR AFM,VXR Injectors,Courtenay FMIC,Dbilias Flowmaster,Regal Precat,Miltek exhaust,Lightened Flywheel,Uprated Clutch,Denso Plugs,Veccy Pipe,Eibachs,308mm Discs

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What i should know about changing brake pads?
    By StueyyLadd in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-06-2014, 02:54
  2. Changing brake pads
    By astramath in forum Chassis
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15-08-2005, 19:41

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •