Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Cam Belt Locking Tool For Opel Astra

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    pchanj's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Cam Belt Locking Tool For Opel Astra

    Hi everyone,
    I just want to ask everyone's expert advice. I am about to do a cambelt change on an Opel Astra Z16XE. The car is located in the Philippines. Just want to know if this will be a suitable equipment to buy to lock the twin camshaft since it says its for 1.8 litre engine but mine is a 1.6 litre. Thanks for the advice.

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/TWIN-CAM-LOCKI...d=p3911.c0.m14

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    rohan's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I would say it would be ok, but why don't you ask the seller? that would be your best bet.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    pchanj's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The seller won't reply. I also read in the Haynes Manual that the 1.8 litre and the 1.6 litre has the same camshaft. So I guess its safe to assume that this will also work for my 1.6 ecotec twin cam engine. HOpefully someone can answer my question if my assumption is correct. Thanks again.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    rohan's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No that one will not fit, i have just been looking on ebay, the same seller has the one for the 1.6 just look in their store and you should find the one you are looking for.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    leeeeshad's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the ad says this
    This tool is suitable for all 16V EcoTec Engines
    is your 1.6 an ecotec?
    Mk4 3 door sxi

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    pchanj's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    23
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by leeeeshad View Post
    the ad says this
    is your 1.6 an ecotec?

    I just paid for it using paypal. I guess I have to wait for the item and see whether it fits. Anyway, mine is an ecotec 1.6 litre. The guy on ebay does not reply to email and I got desperate. HOpe it does fit cause from Haynes manual, it really looks similar to my twin camshaft. HOpe someone can clarify this. Thanks again for the response.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Ruperts Trooper's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,471
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've never used a cam locking tool - it takes more time to ensure that the crank pulley and both cams are aligned but it's not difficult.
    Maintains:- Vectra Design 1.9CDTi
    Drives :- Hyundai Santa Fe


  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    jimmywrc's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    210
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by pchanj View Post
    I just paid for it using paypal. I guess I have to wait for the item and see whether it fits. Anyway, mine is an ecotec 1.6 litre. The guy on ebay does not reply to email and I got desperate. HOpe it does fit cause from Haynes manual, it really looks similar to my twin camshaft. HOpe someone can clarify this. Thanks again for the response.
    1.4 16v 1.6 16v are different locking tools goes in the middle of the cam becuz the are far apart, the 1.8 2.0 2.2 are close together so it goes top and bottem of the cams and also the gsi are different as mine did not fit wen i did my headgasket..
    GSi you dont know what you been missing 2 you get one!!!

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    rohan's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    You better write to him again and make sure he sends the one for the 1.6,

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    websitedragon's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    118
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    That's not going to fit the 1.6. The 1.6 one is much wider..

    Where are you located?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Changing timing belt - need locking tool
    By adetel in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-08-2009, 16:04

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •