Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Missing pixels on Zafira A display

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    mikecymru's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Missing pixels on Zafira A display

    Hi all

    My zafiras display is missing lots of pixels and its now doing my head in!!

    Does anyone know where I can get a reasonably priced one? I presume you cant fix them?

    Thanks

    Mike

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    ZAF_GSI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,933
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by mikecymru View Post
    Hi all

    My zafiras display is missing lots of pixels and its now doing my head in!!

    Does anyone know where I can get a reasonably priced one? I presume you cant fix them?

    Thanks

    Mike
    Best place is your local breakers mate.
    PHASE 3 ON A SWITCH WIV A GARRETT

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    AndyH's Avatar
    Bit busy... be back soon!
    Join Date
    Jul 1971
    Drives
    Astra Coupe 2.2
    Posts
    300,024,286
    Mentioned in
    133 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Follow AndyH On Twitter Add AndyH on Facebook Add AndyH on Google+
    What he said ^^^

    Assuming it's a bog standard TID (radio, time, temp), VX will relieve you of about £170 for a brand spanker. If you're haveing trouble finding one, a Vectra B one can be persuaded to fit with a soldering iron and not too much hassle - internals are identical you see? Only the casing is different
    Actively proving that post counts mean jack sh*t since 1971

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    mikecymru's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    48
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    thanks guys

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    AndyH's Avatar
    Bit busy... be back soon!
    Join Date
    Jul 1971
    Drives
    Astra Coupe 2.2
    Posts
    300,024,286
    Mentioned in
    133 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Follow AndyH On Twitter Add AndyH on Facebook Add AndyH on Google+
    No worries. If you do end up going down the Vectra route, gis a shout and I'll guide you in what to do with it
    Actively proving that post counts mean jack sh*t since 1971

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    zafiraowner's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    345
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Or if you feel like it and have a soldering iron and some skills you could just fix it yourself.

    Here is the guide on howto do it.

    http://www.problemcar.nl/opeltje/mid%20reparatie.htm

    Zafiraowner

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    AndyH's Avatar
    Bit busy... be back soon!
    Join Date
    Jul 1971
    Drives
    Astra Coupe 2.2
    Posts
    300,024,286
    Mentioned in
    133 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Follow AndyH On Twitter Add AndyH on Facebook Add AndyH on Google+
    I feel I should warn here that the success rate of that particular fix is by no means guaranteed - I borked mine attempting the same repair. Mind you, if it's already unuseable I guess you got nothing to lose
    Actively proving that post counts mean jack sh*t since 1971

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    zafiraowner's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    345
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    @Tangoid

    Not to diss your skills but i for one am going to have a go at it when i get that damn radio pulled. Seems like mine is spotwelded into place. :-)

    But then again, i am an educated electronic engineer with 10+ years experience with electronics :-)

    Actually, i would rather want to exchange it for a MID display and just do the additional wiring myself ;-)

    PS. i know i should use a "special tool" to extract the radio but i dont have this and have tried with a variety of objects to stick into the holes...With very little succes...Will probably need to get the proper tools..

    PPS. if vauxhall wants 170 pounds for a brand spanking new one...Maybe i should make a little bit of money offering to repair the unit for as little as 50 quid...

    Zafiraowner

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    AndyH's Avatar
    Bit busy... be back soon!
    Join Date
    Jul 1971
    Drives
    Astra Coupe 2.2
    Posts
    300,024,286
    Mentioned in
    133 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Follow AndyH On Twitter Add AndyH on Facebook Add AndyH on Google+
    Quote Originally Posted by zafiraowner View Post
    PPS. if vauxhall wants 170 pounds for a brand spanking new one...Maybe i should make a little bit of money offering to repair the unit for as little as 50 quid...

    Zafiraowner
    Why not! There was a guy doing it for £25 on there a while back, dunno if he still is

    PS: if you're going for it, little bit of forward info for you - Siemens didn't traditionally solder the ribbon connector to the PCB, they're sort of heat-bonded on. Good luck with it
    Actively proving that post counts mean jack sh*t since 1971

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    zafiraowner's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    345
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Tangoid View Post
    Why not! There was a guy doing it for £25 on there a while back, dunno if he still is

    PS: if you're going for it, little bit of forward info for you - Siemens didn't traditionally solder the ribbon connector to the PCB, they're sort of heat-bonded on. Good luck with it
    Yeah i know the kind..

    But still....If there is solder pads i an just exchange the lot with wires. It will be a hell of a job but it will probably still make a decent amount of money pr. hour :-)

    Oh well...Will have to do my own first to see if i can do it at all or i will just ruin the unit

    Unless someone offcourse have a MID for sale that will fit my zafira :-)

    Zafiraowner

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •