Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Techie Help - Application Data

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Shortyy's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Techie Help - Application Data

    Hey guys, ive got an issue with my laptop after sending it for repairs, for the 2nd time. After replacing the parts, it seems they used the admin account to remove the password to my account (with admin rights). In doing this, it appears that windows has created a whole new documents and settings folder for my documents and app data etc, whilst leaving my original one untouched but not linked to the account.
    Any ideas on how to link it back up to my user account? I managed to link My Documents back up, but app data and all that stuff doesnt seem to be doing anything
    Hope this makes sense cos it's kind of confusing


  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    AJB2K3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,504
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Can't really be certain be try renaming the folders and rebooting?
    I can't say that this may also cause a problem because its been over a year since I tryed it.
    I'm like a bad penny, old, dirty, and appears when not wanted.
    Guess who's writing a victorian fantasy book. #JamesPurcell #The Diaries of James Purcell

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    kNeo gHau's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    520
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Click start and right click on my documents, you can redirect it to the warren.pc423891 folder, the my pictures and my videos should automatically redirect to this folder as well.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    joemailey's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,551
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Log in under the Admin account and copy and paste everything from the old user account to the new user account???
    Should work.

    Preferably using safe mode.
    Which you get to by pressing F8 before the windows loading screen appears.
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveDempsey View Post
    Hey atleast MOTing your car should be a lot simpler than MOTing your EX. Replacing a worn out bush on a car is far easier.



  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    dave234's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    1,312
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you usaly get that folder when the system recover disk has been used what was wrong/done to the pc
    Mk4 ASTRA 1.7DTI Estate On 126K Miles Now 127k 11/10/2008 - - 129K 28/11/2008 - - 130k 04/01/2009 -- Now 138k 08/05/2009 Now 142k and a broken Diff -- 144K

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Shortyy's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    331
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hey guys, cheers for the help, finally sorted it. Tried renaming the folders but it wouldnt let me cos it was a 'system file/folder' and i tried changing if from the admin account but when i boot into safemode, admin account doesnt appear. I couldnt find my recovery disk so i turned to regedit.
    Changed all the strings that lead to the new directory to the old 1 and all is back to normal
    Appreciate the help guys

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    uk_engineer's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,088
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    use the transfer files and settings wizard, they have reinstalled over your original windows installation, if it had a virus or spyware infection, expect it back soon.
    Zafira B SRi Turbo

Similar Threads

  1. AmD (and Techie?) in EVO mag
    By arbee in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-07-2004, 01:26

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •