Thread: What does a quick detailer actually do?

Status
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)

What does a quick detailer actually do?

Currently (hold back, I'm new to this!) I've been washing my car and then drying it with soft cotton cloths. I've never had the car through a car wash and am always careful to rinse the sponge between uses and the sponge never gets close to the base of the bucket to avoid picking up grit.

Over the past month it has been AutoGlym SRP'd once very thouroughly, then a coat of AutoGlym EGP. A few weeks later I re-applied another coat of EGP.

The car comes up very well when drying, to the extent that some 6th formers at work said my car was 'gleaming' which I took as a good thing!

After having a little look at the quick detailer sprays they seem to be nothing more than a light version of something like EGP? Are they still the same as a polish/wax in relation to them making a white mess of exterior plastics?

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quick detailer does exatly what it says on the tin to be honest but can be used for numerous occasions whether its spritzing your wax, pads, applicators before buffing off waxes or just topping up a wax. Couldnt help but notice you said you use the tool of the devil "sponge" would defo ditch this even if you are carefull.

Status
    Cumbria RO | Club Team
    Mentioned in
    48 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Lol...I'll be changing the sponge for a mitt via GeordieBandit soon but I am very very careful with the sponge, always ensure it goes in lines and not circles and always try to float it on a layer of foam. Hose to wet the whole car, rewet relevant panel, sponge one panel at a time, rinse, next panel...I'm sad, honest! Wife reckons I'm mad!

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Near Portsmouth....... Drives a Signum 1.9 CDTi
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)