Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

1.6i 16v SXi or other?

Hi, new member here.

I'm about to purchase my first car ever and I'm thinking of making it an Astra. Been looking at the options and I'm opting for a Mk4. I want something sporty but also good on insurance and economical wise since I'm still a student and my pockets aren't too deep.

Just want some opinions and advice towards the 1.6i 16v SXi.

Also, what use is the twinport version.

Thanks.

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    A mk4 1.6 sxi would be a very decent 1st car lad, i had one and it was a good we motor. When looking at one make sure timing belt has been done at the correct intervals, 40k or 4 years.
    This is vauxhall country...on a quiet night you can hear the fords rust!!!!!

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yeah great first car, thats what ive got as my first one. nice insurance/performance compromise, won't set the world alight but a great motorway cruiser and quite nippy for what it is.

Deffo make sure its had the belts done,i didn't and had to shell out an extra 500 quid to get them and the waterpump done.

Status
    AOC Fanatic
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I've got an 1.6 SXi, as my second car, and I'm a student too. Its group 6 insurance i think, and is cheap to run. But definitely make sure the belts been done, and the oils been properly maintained.

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Twinport just adds 5hp over the standard engine, plus stronger timing belt. Better engine all round as it give a little more low-end power than the standard 1.6 16v.