Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: vauxhall astra immobiliser problem??? Please help!

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)

vauxhall astra immobiliser problem??? Please help!

Hello fellow vauxhall owners.

I am new to this but could do with any help. this is driving me crazy!

i have a vauxhall astra (5 door hatchback) 1.6 that is manufatcured in 99 (t reg).

Last summer my immobiliser (i think, as i dont have an alarm) just kept randomly going off for no reason! this incudes the horn/siren (so loud) and the indicator lights. i noticed that on cloudy or rainy days, the car was absolutely fine, but as soon as the sun shines the stupid immobiliser goes off! i felt it was definetely a heat thing....

so i went to vauxhall and they did a diagnostic test and came up with no problems but they said the siren probably needs a changing (very expensive). not a 100% that was the problem, i said no to the change and prayed that it would go away.

all winter, car was absolutely fine, nothing at all! then suddenly bank holiday monday (very hot and the sun is out) and the car is back to its old self. its gone off 4 times in the space of 30 mins!

when i leave one of the doors open, its fine again, no noise at all! but i dont want to do this all summer!

does anyone have an idea whether its the siren or the power sounder (info off some other forum)? or is there anyway i could disable the immobiliser? changing the siren is gona cost like £175!

please help!anyone!

it is very much appreciated!

p.s sory for the long explanation

Status
    AstraSport Member
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    You sure you anit got no alarm?

as far as i know the immobiliser only stops the car from turning over.

and welcome to AOC

Status
    AOC Obsessed
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    It's an alarm you've got mate, it sounds like the ultrasonics mate disconnect or disable them and try it

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    hey guys,