Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Idle problems after changing plugs?????

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    camturbo's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Idle problems after changing plugs?????

    So i decided to change the spark plugs after it was misfiring, its now pulling alot better without jerking but as soon as i started the car with the new plugs in it seems to struggle to breathe properly and sounded like it wanted to cut out. It drives fine, just when its in idle this happens when the engine is cold and hot. Ive been reading up other threads about people have idle probs but couldnt figure out why my car never done this untill i changed the plugs? could it be the afm on the way out or lamdba sensor or map sensor? I dont want to put it to vauxhall cus there its been in there the past two months twice to try sort the boost and both times they never resolved it and overcharged me!!

    Help me please!

    Thanks in advanced.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It could be your boost problem

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    SRI-T Keithy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5,745
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Could plug gaps be out?

    White is the new Black

    FARMYARD TUNING

    LEH IS THE FUTURE

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    jalfrezigazee's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3,102
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    have you left the small breather pipe off that goes from the cam cover to the airbox? Sounds like you have a small air leak in the inlet somewhere
    Be Happy


  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    webbo gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,548
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    which plugs have you put in? and what gap? also is the car on a standard map?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    camturbo's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    just put in the normal ngk as i wanted to see if it was the plugs that were missfiring and they had them instock but didnt have the iridium ones. my car is on standard map. all pipes are back on the head. I didnt touch the gap as i thought they would be set up for the car as its the ones for the coupe turbo. the car is boosting fine now with no jerks. just the bloody idle is upset lol. One thing after another im total confused!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Glasgow_Stu's Avatar
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Drives
    Vectra VXR + Astra Coupe Turbo
    Location
    In a box outside tesco
    Posts
    12,987
    Mentioned in
    25 Post(s)
    Quoted
    16 Post(s)
    Add Glasgow_Stu on Facebook
    could it be a duff Idle control valve?
    or poss AFM fault?
    The coupe...ITS ALIVE & back from the dead....again!
    The internet: where everybody knows everything about **** all.

    become a paid member:
    http://www.astraownersclub.com/vb/payments.php



  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    webbo gsi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1,548
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    zlet engines are prone to not liking the bkr5iex plugs. i bought some before i started the mods and it run like a bag of spanners! even the vauxhall ones made it the same so i bought the ngk 6 irridiums and its been fine ever since! dont forget the most important thing! the gap must be 0.67mm and it will run like a dream! a couple of lads had issues with idleing after coming back from regal! i advised they did this and both have said it worked a treat! get the bkr6iex matey!!!!! 0.67mm

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    camturbo's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    59
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I couldnt see the bkr6iex plugs on sparkplugs.co.uk or i just wasnt looking hard enough. Ive heard people saying to set the gap from 0.9 - 1.1 ??? tbh i dont really know how to change the gap, do u push the pins donw? where can i get the bkr6iex plugs from? But my car is standard thisnow so is there really any point getting the irridiums?

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    dazerc's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    1,483
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by camturbo View Post
    I couldnt see the bkr6iex plugs on sparkplugs.co.uk or i just wasnt looking hard enough. Ive heard people saying to set the gap from 0.9 - 1.1 ??? tbh i dont really know how to change the gap, do u push the pins donw? where can i get the bkr6iex plugs from? But my car is standard thisnow so is there really any point getting the irridiums?
    I just ordered them the other day from there, They are BKR6EIX not BKR6IEX what you put.
    http://www.sparkplugs.co.uk/pages/database/results.asp

    I had the BKR6EIX-11 on my car when standard but i'm not sure if the gap was too big as my power was down when i had it rolling roaded when i had Miltek catback with precat pipe BKR6EIX-11 plugs SMIC and K&N panel filter. But who knows what the problem was had it remapped now with the BKR6EIX plugs.
    SMIC, miltek catback, precat, Thorney remap 242.7 bhp 281lb/ft torque

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. changing my z20let GM plugs for z20leh vxr plugs (not really concerned just curious)
    By 22rabbits in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-06-2013, 22:32
  2. X16SZR Jumpy idle when warm - Wrong plugs?
    By johnr551 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 19-05-2012, 17:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •