Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: cd30 speaker out to RCA - AMP

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Rickh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    cd30 speaker out to RCA - AMP

    Hi all,

    I've been reading this forum for a while now.

    I have an original cd30 head unit and a kicker sub & amp with built in low cross over.

    I have cut the 2 purple wires from the head unit (rear right speaker) and joined them to an RCA plug (cut open and connected the -rear right speaker to the middle wire in the RCA plug and the +rear right speaker to the outer wire in the RCA plug.

    So: the rear right speaker wire from the head unit is attached to an RCA plug going to an amp and sub AND the rear right speaker.

    The amp is set to use only the low level frequency and it works fine, the speaker AND the sub work fine.

    Is there a problem with this or will it fry my stuff?

    Cheers in advance.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Dabz's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    223
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what did you use for your remote power feed for the amp mate?

    that setup should be fine I'd have thought
    Audi TT S-Line SE TDi Quattro
    Also Triumph TT600 bike

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Rickh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi mate,

    My concern is that people are selling these high-low converters to do the same thing my simple cable is doing now, why would they turn it to low power it made no difference.

    My remote feed is off the cigarette lighter.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    frostbite's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Amp RCA's are low level, the speaker output is high level, the convertors change the high level to a low signal

    I dont know how they work but they are made for a reason, you will probably damage the low level input on your amp trying to be smart and save money

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Rickh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Damn,

    Do you reckon it will sound better with this converter?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Rickh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    It appears after reading a lot about line level converters that you CAN just use a direct cable link from the speaker out to amp in without destroying it because the input stage of the final amplifier isn't a serious load to the receivers amps.

    It's just that it won't be as clean as with a converter.

    I'll let you all know how the amp is in a few weeks (don't really care if the amp/sub fries - i got them cheap).

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    frostbite's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    But there is a reason why they are labled as high and low

    Its like when you turn the gain up all the way on the amp then feed it 4v of pre out, it destroys the inputs and probably blows the amp

    There is a silencing circuit in the convertor much like a crossover, it will stop any hiss of interferance the amp may pick up

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Dabz's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    223
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    if it's any help I got my converter box off ebay for about £4 so it's not a huge cost! just haven't wired it in yet
    Audi TT S-Line SE TDi Quattro
    Also Triumph TT600 bike

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Rickh's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Cheapest i can find is this:
    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/High-Low-Level...QQcmdZViewItem

    fiver inc. postage

    i'll buy it later

    one thing has been bugging me though

    on a sub, which is 1 speaker, does it need the left and right channels or just 1 channel - i.e. leave the red lead disconnected

    will there be half the power, or will it be the same?

    the wires i cut into are purple, i'm not sure what the other rear channel wire colour is

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    frostbite's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Dover
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    If its bridged you will get a loss in volume, in 2 ch mode you'll loose a channel


    dont really know how the bridge mode works

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-07-2011, 21:15
  2. CD30 MP3/Sub/Speaker
    By broders_120 in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 30-06-2009, 23:39

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •