Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Microsoft Exchange and Pop3..

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Rob's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,595
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Microsoft Exchange and Pop3..

    Heres one for any of you Exchange people...

    I have an e-mail account on an exchange server which i would like to access at a different location via a pop3 account/setup...

    http://www.msexchange.org/tutorials/...ge_Server.html

    this article above would imply this is possible, but in reality it doesnt appear to work...

    My question is, has anyone done this?

    Do you have to add anything to the exchange box?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Paul's Avatar
    Ex-Astra Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    12,861
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Have you enabled the POP ports on the server?

    Are you using SSL? if so self-signed or not?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    LordNikon's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    18,952
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Why not just use webmail to the exchange box ??

    What version you running, thats 5.5 (ie old shite) in the link

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Rob's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,595
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    How do you enable pop ports on the server? I am something of a novice when it comes to exchange unfortunately..

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Paul's Avatar
    Ex-Astra Owner
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    12,861
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Sploodge's Avatar
    BAFPCITS
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    6,522
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I take it you want to access the mail via POP/IMAP.. I will assume its not 5.5 too I would use IMAP4 because its better BTW

    First thing to do is make sure the IMAP service is started on the exchange box ( normally disabled if I remember correctly ).

    Not sure if you have an isa firewall, hardware firewall or maybe just RRAS running on a perimiter exchange box..

    If its ISA, create a rule allowing imap port inbound to the exchange box ( port 143 by default ).

    Router firewall, then just setup port forwarding to the exchnage box to allow the imap port ( again 143 is the default one )

    RRAS, the in the firewall settings for RRAS allow imap ( its already there as a rule just needs enabling )..

    As said, make sure the service is running ( services manager and set to automatic ) and them make sure its running properly by checking exchange system manager..

    /end geek mode
    Mr Sploodge, Accept No Imitations!

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Rob's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    3,595
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cool, thanks for that, i shall have a looksee!

Similar Threads

  1. VXR Turbo Exchange
    By don shaleone in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 15-09-2012, 20:57
  2. Microsoft Exchange Server / SBS Experts..
    By Rob in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15-12-2007, 19:28

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •