Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Key fob problem

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    sudd's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Exclamation Key fob problem

    I recently replaced my cd player and the ariel lead on the back of the unit is a different socket to the plug that was already on the cable so i did not connect it, (looking for an adaptor if anyone can help?) will this affect the cars ability to lock with the key fob?

    Sorry if this should be in ICE

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Astra_SXI_16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    485
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Hi,
    You can get aerial adapters from Halfords or a good motor factors shop for around 4 quid, Why would you think that this would affect your cars ability to lock with the key fob tho???
    Astra SXI 1.6 16v
    > Irmscher i line <

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    I didn't see this post before the one in ICE, different problems in the correct places so all's good here

    It may be that the red and yellow wires need swapping round on your headunit, did the car still make a key in the ignition noise even when the key was removed even if it was for a short time?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    sudd's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Im assuming the sensor for the key fob is on the same circuit/cable as the ariel, as presumably they would both need to be at the most receptive point on the car (Correct me if im wrong ofcourse and i probably am =D)

    Ill get an adaptor put in today and let you guys know if it worked, cheers!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Thats not the case though, I had no headunit in the car at all and it worked fine

    Let us know how you get on though
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    sudd's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Bought the adaptor and fitted it and as you said no it didnt work

    I recently changed the ariel and ive read somewhere that the sensor could be in the ariel, can anyone shed any light? I think ill check the fuse in a minute if i can find which it is

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Unplug your new radio mate and see if the remote works then

    The aerial for the remotes built into the central locking unit

    You can also try resyncing the remote by switching the ignition on and pressing a button on it
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    sudd's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    Unplug your new radio mate and see if the remote works then

    The aerial for the remotes built into the central locking unit

    You can also try resyncing the remote by switching the ignition on and pressing a button on it
    Tried doing it without the CD player out to no avail and tried resncing the key, nothing happens at all

    The red light comes on on the key though so its not the battery on the key

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    sudd's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    No ideas anyone??

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    sudd's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the central alarm does work without any cd player in

    but now i have another problem with the headunit, its not coming on at all

    theres power getting to it as th red light comes on when the cd players on but nothing comes on on the screen

    so i swapped back to the initial cd player and the same happens, any ideas on both problems?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. why does my remap cause a throttle problem and cruise control problem?
    By 22rabbits in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-08-2013, 14:50
  2. ECT problem or Idle Air Control valve problem?! =S
    By Jer7 in forum NA Engines (Non-turbo petrol) inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22-12-2012, 13:50
  3. M1GST problem No. 145678,897,898.3 wierd door locking problem
    By MatG in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 30-10-2008, 18:17

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •