Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: vxr turbo

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    sri t sean's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    147
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    vxr turbo

    i have just got a vxr turbo off my mate only problem is the manifold has a crack on it which has been welded.it has come off a astra vxr will i need to buy or swap anything over,bolt and play?

    also if i buy vxr injectors and fuel rail and fit them all on can i still drive the car or will it need a remap straight away?

    cheers

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    jalfrezigazee's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3,102
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you will need to put your manifold on and get a remap straight away
    Be Happy


  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Gary_Lawton's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    142
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    The vxr turbo is pretty much plug and play. The water pipe on the front of the let turbo is on the top of the vxr turbo so you will need to move the blank on the vxr unit. You'll see what i mean when you get them both on the bench and compare. As for the injectors, you'll have to have a remap to use them, it will run like a nail if you don't because the ECU can't trim the to fuel/air ratio properly.
    Astra Coupe Turbo - *LawtoSport Stage 3*

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    C9SRi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,694
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    so by using a VXR turbo and standard zlet rail, its plug and play no remap required?
    Star Silver Astra Coupe Turbo

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Botz's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes, thats its no re map needed, if only fitting vxr turbo make sure you town acuator down lol had no end of problems wi mine because of that

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    C9SRi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,694
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what if i use the VXR turbo and VXR actuator?
    Star Silver Astra Coupe Turbo

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Coupe John's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Drives
    Astra 1.9 cdti xpack
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    2,593
    Mentioned in
    17 Post(s)
    Quoted
    61 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by C9SRi View Post
    what if i use the VXR turbo and VXR actuator?
    Still turn the actuator down like botz said, and you won't have any problems, I do it so 6mm of thread is showing.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Botz's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    As john said, or like alot of people on here told me loosen off then finger tighten as much as possible, then half turn with 10mm spanner that seemed to work the best with my car

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    C9SRi's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    1,694
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ive bought the VXR Turbo and Actuator today, and ive been told not to touch the actuator... what if i leave it as it is?
    Star Silver Astra Coupe Turbo

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    jalfrezigazee's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    3,102
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    if left in delivered position and the car is running standard internals then you may get overspooling (will kill the bearings in no time) or overpower which can wreck your engine. Many people will say they have left as is and seen no problems. Also many people will say the turbos are rubbish as the bearings failed very soon after fitting (they will neglect to mention that the actuator was set incorrectly for their car)


    I would advise to wind it down similar to the picture below



    Also fit it all in place apart from the oil return pipe. Only attach the top end of this pipe, before you crank the engine over remove the plugs and disconnect the crank sensor. Now when it is all connected and full of oil crank the engine until oil is seen coming out of the return pipe. This way you can guarantee that oil is going through the turbo and the shaft will hardly be spinning at all. Then connect crank sensor, fit plugs, connect oil return line and fire up
    Be Happy


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 360 Degree Thrust Bearing for VXR Turbo by Turbo Technics or Turbo Dynamics
    By npfman in forum Turbo Petrol Engines inc. Transmissions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 25-11-2009, 11:40
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-11-2007, 23:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •