Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Constant and ignition live?? help needed asap please

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Constant and ignition live?? help needed asap please

    right, i've bought a ripspeed dv20 and it keeps loosing memory,

    I have the red/ yellow wires in the loom but they both have big fuses in them, 10amp's i think,


    should i chop and change these wires?

    or can i chop and fix 2 wires in the vaux ISO block???
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by A51M View Post
    right, i've bought a ripspeed dv20 and it keeps loosing memory,

    I have the red/ yellow wires in the loom but they both have big fuses in them, 10amp's i think,


    should i chop and change these wires?

    or can i chop and fix 2 wires in the vaux ISO block???
    You should have a connector that you can unplug on the yellow and the red and just mix them so red also connects to the yellow and vice versa swap it from the head unit end.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    dont have a connector mate
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    no plug/spage connections


    there is a red wire that goes from the loom to the HU, its got an inline fuse,

    there is also a thicker yellow wire, that also has an inline fuse, the Yellow wire has a 10amp fuse, should i cut these and mix them?
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    well fit new bullet connectors then

    cut wires, fit new bullets, crimp - rejoin red/yellow, yellow/red - job sorted

    EDIT: what kinda fuses are fitted? cant u remove one end of the fuse from red and join onto yellow and vice versa???

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    right, am off to do that, be back in 10 mins
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    leeeeshad's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    cant you swap the fuse connectors around?

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    fuse connections?

    right the cutting and swapping wires didnt work, the HU cam on for a second, and just went off,


    the Yellow wire has a B+ label on it and the red one has a ACC label,


    what should i do?
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    oh and the fuse connectors cant be swapped, the fuses are soldered in
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    A51M's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    4,416
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    any ideas?
    Observe the masses and do the opposite

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Constant live?
    By nurburgring in forum Electrical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-03-2014, 21:23
  2. Constant live???
    By doug2783 in forum ICE Mk5|H
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-09-2009, 22:22
  3. Ignition switch part number needed ASAP!
    By SRiTaff in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-03-2009, 23:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •