Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Basic Sound Setup

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Amraam's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,506
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Basic Sound Setup

    Hey all.

    I'll be getting my Astra G on Tuesday, and I'll want to put in new speakers.

    I've already got my HU which is a Kenwood KDC-W707. I've got the ip-500 iPod connector also.

    I'm just after suggestions for speakers. I don't want to go the subwoofer route, but I was thinking instead the 4 door speaker and 2 6x9 route. I've got the 6x9s from my old car already (Pioneer Accelerates I think).

    Is it possible to run 4 door speakers + 2 6x9s?

    Which door speakers would you recommend? Any makes to look for or to avoid?


    UPDATED:


    Front: http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/dyna...62-p-5523.html

    Rear: http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/dyna...52-p-5522.html


    I'm open for suggestions, but I don't want to spend any more than that. Less if possible.

    Oh, and with the right cable, can I operate my W707 HU with the Astra steering remote controls?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Amraam's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,506
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Anybody?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,745
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    The problem with running 3 sets of speakers is that you will be dropping the resistance of the speakers on the rear down to 2ohms which will strain the headunit and isn't recomended
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    leeeeshad's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    you could amp the 6x9s if the headunit has a preout

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Amraam's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,506
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by leeeeshad View Post
    you could amp the 6x9s if the headunit has a preout
    Yeah the HU has a preout.

    So you mean to use the 4 speakers, + 2 6x9 amped?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    leeeeshad's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,897
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    yer, or you could just use the 6x9s and not the other rear speakers

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Toms1989's Avatar
    Soft Top VTEC :)
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    11,356
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    In my opinion

    6x9's aren't a very good addition to any sound set up

    Sell them on, and get a good set of Components for up front (seen your post)

    For the same money mate, you can get much better than pioneers

    http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/dynamics-sd62-p-5523.html

    Then amplify them at a later point
    FULL Black Leather Heated coupe interior for sale! £200!!!
    Click Here

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Amraam's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,506
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    OK, going from your recommendations, and from reviews I've read, the SPL Dynamics stuff look very nice!

    How bout this:

    Front: http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/dyna...62-p-5523.html

    Rear: http://www.caraudiodirect.co.uk/dyna...52-p-5522.html

    And then in the future, if I decide I want a bit more volume, get a multichannel (4) that outputs ~ 4x60RMS?

    If I get one that outputs say, 4x70W RMS, can you dial it down so it doesn't blow your speakers?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Amraam's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1,506
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Oh, and I will I get at least the same power from than setup as I do from my current 2x13cm / 2x 6x9 setup?

Similar Threads

  1. 'Geometry Setup' vs Basic Alignment
    By Teabag in forum Chassis
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 28-07-2010, 10:48
  2. Basic Setup
    By Fabyoulous in forum ICE Mk4|G
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 22:48

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •