Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: El Telephone

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Sami's Avatar
    The Invisible Woman
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Drives
    Zafira
    Location
    Garelochhead, but now Northampton
    Posts
    12,675
    Mentioned in
    50 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)

    Cool El Telephone

    ok, can someone explain this to me, cos I dont get it

    BT phone line - no dial tone however calls can come in, but you dont receive anyone on answering - line appears dead. BUT Broadband works fine.

    How can 1 be down and the other not ?

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Phone line works on a pair of wires. DSL can sometimes work over just a single wire. So if one of your 2 wires has broke, it could knock your phone off, but keep the DSL working.

    Is the broadband still working at normal speed or slower?

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    AndyH's Avatar
    Bit busy... be back soon!
    Join Date
    Jul 1971
    Drives
    Astra Coupe 2.2
    Posts
    300,024,286
    Mentioned in
    133 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Follow AndyH On Twitter Add AndyH on Facebook Add AndyH on Google+
    Broadband seems to be working at about normal speed for this time of night (god bless DSLMax )

    You can dial in and make the phone ring, but when you pick up there's nothing - just a very faint hiss. Sam has reported it to BT (India Division) so we'll see what happens when the ring back tomorro - oh, hang on
    Actively proving that post counts mean jack sh*t since 1971

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Bubba's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,729
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Possibly a faulty adsl filter or could just be a problem at their end.

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    buckle's Avatar
    /
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    18,921
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    1 Post(s)
    Have you done there tests by taking off the face plate and testing the phone in there?

    A few different things could cause that problem, possibly a loop/contact fault.

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    AndyH's Avatar
    Bit busy... be back soon!
    Join Date
    Jul 1971
    Drives
    Astra Coupe 2.2
    Posts
    300,024,286
    Mentioned in
    133 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Follow AndyH On Twitter Add AndyH on Facebook Add AndyH on Google+
    Yeah, already had the faceplate off (which also ruled out the DSL filter as it's one of the old engineer installed ones) and plugged a phone into the socket - no change. Whatever it is, I don't think it's our side of the wall.
    Actively proving that post counts mean jack sh*t since 1971

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Steve_1.8sri's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    565
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Tried the test line facility ? Can do it via BT site. Link
    Mk4 888 No: 55
    Mk4 SRi

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    AndyH's Avatar
    Bit busy... be back soon!
    Join Date
    Jul 1971
    Drives
    Astra Coupe 2.2
    Posts
    300,024,286
    Mentioned in
    133 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Follow AndyH On Twitter Add AndyH on Facebook Add AndyH on Google+
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve_1.8sri View Post
    Tried the test line facility ? Can do it via BT site. Link
    Yeah, that was the first thing we tried (second was the faceplate removal) - no fault was detected

    Lack of dialtone / incoming / outgoing calls would suggest otherwise...
    Actively proving that post counts mean jack sh*t since 1971

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    SQ Man's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    4,881
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    2 Post(s)
    We had similar problems at home last year.
    Turned out the line had suffered lightning damage & had a fault in the master socket plus a fault on the box on the pole outside the house as well. Best to get a BT engineer out to check it over.
    2003 Sapphire Black 3Dr DTi Astra
    Custom Irmscher kit, Interior Leather/Alcantara retrim & Alpine/Focal Install
    Install progress (----------)

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Sami's Avatar
    The Invisible Woman
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Drives
    Zafira
    Location
    Garelochhead, but now Northampton
    Posts
    12,675
    Mentioned in
    50 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    How strange, woke this morning to find the phone line is working again. Cancelled callout to BT and even the bloke on the phone thought it was weird since they havent got around to doing anything yet. God knows what happened :/

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Telephone Network
    By Sploodge in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 17-04-2008, 20:23
  2. Telephone no request...
    By jimmy_c in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-01-2007, 21:10
  3. Telephone Work
    By Al in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 15-10-2005, 13:15

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •