Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Uprated alarm but no key fob?

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Riggsy12's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Question Uprated alarm but no key fob?

    Bought an 03 Astra van last Saturday. The standard key fob didnt work, didnt even light up so I changed the battery now it lights up but the remote locking doesn't work!?

    I noticed a sticker on one of the windows reading GT alarm.

    I checked all the history i got with the van and there is a card from what looks like an alarm fitting company plus a leaflet with instructions about the uprated alarm.

    The van didnt come with any key fobs for this other alarm.

    I dont know much about alarms so just wanting some advice please.

    If I phone the number on the card would you think they could just send me out a new fob and I could programme it myself?

    Cheers.

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    GB's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Leeds
    Posts
    21,918
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    first u gotta resync the remote central locking - so insert the key into ignition and turn onto 2nd click - ie all lights on dash - dont start engine.

    press the lock button once - doors should lock then unlock to signal that the resynchonisation is complete - doors should now lock/unlock remotely as per normal.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Riggsy12's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Nope I have tried that with the standard key mate.

    Which makes me think the standard alarm and remote locking has been disconnected?

    Thats why I am now thinking I need a key fob for this GT alarm I might have?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Astra_SXI_16v's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    485
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Have a look under the bonnet for the siren or some sort of evidence of the alarm as it may have been removed from the car altogether!

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Riggsy12's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Just got off the phone to the company that fitted it, bloke said nothing he can do as you need one of the exsisting fobs

    So I phoned the bloke I bought it iff he is going to give the bloke he got it from a call to see if he has any of these fobs knocking around...

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    Any info on this car as to the model number of this GT alarm?
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Riggsy12's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    Any info on this car as to the model number of this GT alarm?
    Its a GT 409 modular alarm.

    The car is an 03 plate Astra van 1.7 DTI Envoy.

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Autosparks's Avatar
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Location
    N/W London
    Posts
    39,743
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    See if you can find the alarm brain and then check for dip switches. I'm reading that you turn the ignition on, flick dip switch 2 on and then press and hold remote till the LED lights then you switch the switch off followed by the ignition

    Maybe call these guys and see if they can help you out with the remote http://www.scorpionauto.com/keyfobs.html
    Want a professional job done on fitting your aftermarket electrical accessories? PM me for a quote
    Electrical fault finding also taken on
    Located in N/W London HA3, and willing to travel within reason





  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Enigma ???'s Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,468
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Autosparks View Post
    See if you can find the alarm brain and then check for dip switches. I'm reading that you turn the ignition on, flick dip switch 2 on and then press and hold the remote till the LED lights then you switch the switch off followed by the ignition

    Maybe call these guys and see if they can help you out with the remote http://www.scorpionauto.com/keyfobs.html
    Yes that is correct from memory i think it was dip switch 2 that needs to be changed

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Riggsy12's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    66
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If I do that will I be able to use the standard remote locking?

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Factory fitted alarm & Clifford alarm.
    By davedefeet in forum Electrical
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2007, 00:01
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-11-2006, 01:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •