Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 54

Thread: Diagnostic Port

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    ZAF_GSI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,933
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Diagnostic Port

    Probably asked this before but where is it? Is it still under the hand brake? I just got my diagnostics through of ebay and wanna test it out.
    PHASE 3 ON A SWITCH WIV A GARRETT

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    AndyM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Yes. Funny, I got one the other day, been looking for a cheap laptop to use it with ... got one lined up so will hopefully test mine out soon.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    ZAF_GSI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,933
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyM View Post
    Yes. Funny, I got one the other day, been looking for a cheap laptop to use it with ... got one lined up so will hopefully test mine out soon.
    Hopefully i can get it working.....im not sure but think its gotta be pluged in to the car to get working
    I will let you no what happens andy.
    PHASE 3 ON A SWITCH WIV A GARRETT

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    dannysport18's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    35,241
    Mentioned in
    7 Post(s)
    Quoted
    7 Post(s)
    under the handbrake

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    AndyM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by ZAF_GSI View Post
    Hopefully i can get it working.....im not sure but think its gotta be pluged in to the car to get working
    I will let you no what happens andy.
    I believe that you need the ignition switched on, but engine not running to power the ECU. Thanks, hopefully I will have a play in a day or 2 as well

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    AndyM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well, tested the new laptop and ELM today briefly, all seemed to work, no error codes stored . Going to have to seek out some more software to have a play with.

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    ZAF_GSI's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,933
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by AndyM View Post
    Well, tested the new laptop and ELM today briefly, all seemed to work, no error codes stored . Going to have to seek out some more software to have a play with.

    Alright andy what one you got? I tested mine yesterday and wouldnt load up. So i went to the ebay site because you can down load it there so i done that and still didnt work? What to do?
    PHASE 3 ON A SWITCH WIV A GARRETT

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    AndyM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    I installed virtual com drivers, went into device manager to find out what com port had been allocated (Com 4 in my case). I then started the diagnostic software and went into the options to select com 4. Then pluged it into the car, ignition on and selected 'connect'.

    Oh, I have the ELM 327, little square silver box with leads

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    AndyM's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2,675
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    If you have any problems, let me know and I'll do a little write up and send you the drivers

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    AndyH's Avatar
    Bit busy... be back soon!
    Join Date
    Jul 1971
    Drives
    Astra Coupe 2.2
    Posts
    300,024,286
    Mentioned in
    133 Post(s)
    Quoted
    30 Post(s)
    Follow AndyH On Twitter Add AndyH on Facebook Add AndyH on Google+
    What software did you end up using Andy?
    Actively proving that post counts mean jack sh*t since 1971

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Diagnostic Port
    By TURLEY91 in forum Astra Discussion & Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20-03-2010, 21:30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •