Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: some IT help needed lads and ladys

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Craig's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17,804
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    some IT help needed lads and ladys

    Ok my bro in law decided to fit a new 250Gb hard drive to his pc

    he managed to fit it but seems to have messed up the XP install on it and i cant seem to fix it

    it boots from the hard drive and tries to finish the install but keeps throwing up an error

    and even if i set the BIOS to boot from disk to format it again it keeps booting from the HD

    he doesnt have a floppy drive and i cant even fit it to my external housing for my laptop and do it through windows as its a different connection to the usual IDE one

    ideas ?????
    Ibiza FR CR TDI with 203 BHP

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Craig's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17,804
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    sorry wrong section

    can a mod please move
    Ibiza FR CR TDI with 203 BHP

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Mark_W's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,462
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    what is the error?

    and is XP on the new disk or are you running the new disk as a slave to a disk with xp on?

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Craig's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17,804
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    the new disk is replacing his old HD as some guy in a OC shop told him it was corrupt and as its onlt a 20Gb one he replaced it

    the xp he is instaling is one he bought
    Ibiza FR CR TDI with 203 BHP

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Mark_W's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    1,462
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    ok, need to know the error then, or at least roughly what it said. Was it a windows intall error?

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Craig's Avatar
    AOC Gold Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    17,804
    Mentioned in
    1 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mark_W View Post
    ok, need to know the error then, or at least roughly what it said. Was it a windows intall error?
    yeah said something about not being able to load some files
    Ibiza FR CR TDI with 203 BHP

  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    ovkillz's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    211
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Need the error,
    but try resetting bios settings to load safe defaults regardless. Thats all i can think of from the top of my head.


  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Sam_1501's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    32
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    possibly a scratched XP CD or if you say its not an IDE HD then its probably a SATA HD so could be a driver issue if its an old system. May also be a setting in bios for SATA HD's?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    AJB2K3's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,504
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Craig View Post
    yeah said something about not being able to load some files
    Do you have a full install cd (doesn't matter if its a dodgy copy) AND the restore cd?

    Use the full install cd till you get to the product insert screen, swap to restore cd then put in code and continue.

    Dads just had this issue and it seams to be a security issue with xp.

    Rember BOTH cd's are needed
    I'm like a bad penny, old, dirty, and appears when not wanted.
    Guess who's writing a victorian fantasy book. #JamesPurcell #The Diaries of James Purcell

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    k1ckn1ck's Avatar
    AOC Fanatic
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    313
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    i have seen this problem a lot, and quite often its actually the rom drive used.

    I always keep one i know that works perfect locked in a cupboard

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. alright lads and ladys??
    By mattquantrill101 in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 15-11-2009, 14:47
  2. For the ladys...
    By Darren SXi 1.8 in forum Chit Chat and a Warm Welcome!
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 17-12-2004, 11:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •