Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: alarm problems (not the usual power sounder one though)

Status
    AOC Newbie
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

alarm problems (not the usual power sounder one though)

(I have also posted this one in the main astra forum by accident sorry)

Hello AOC, i'm a newbie to the site, due to a problem my girlfriend (there fore me too i guess) is having with her astra G alarm, so i hope you can help us. (before the dreaded 2am alarm issues begin!) She said she heard a beeping sound after turning it off in the petrol station the other day, then she said the alarm was going off for no reason 10 minutes after locking, but it sounded 'different' to normal. I unlocked the car by the key in the door and opened it triggering the alarm, but only the power sounder sounded, not the horn too. After a quick search on here, it seemed obvious to me that the batteries in the power sounder where dead blah blah, and was gonna buy a new one tomorrow and fit it. But tonight, i tried the same test, unlock with key and open door (usually triggers alarm) but nothing happened, only the hazards flashed!? This is a new one. I tried the same test with the bonnet switch and got the same results.
    So i'm abit reluctant to spend 50 odd quid on a new sounder for it not to fix the prob. Does anyone have any ideas or experience with this?
    Thanks in advance for any replies, oh, and thanks for having me on the forum too!

Oh, the LED flashes for ages after locking the car too, inducating a problem (is that right?) but then returns to a steady flash.

Status
    Technical Advisor
    Club Team
    Drives
    VXR Nurburgring
    Mentioned in
    115 Post(s)
    Quoted
    70 Post(s)
    It probably still is the power sounder. Water gets into them as well as the batteries not being that good and they just pack up. I am concerned as to why the horn isn't sounding though