Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Trip computer Mk4....

  
  1. #1
    Status
    Offline
    Sisson's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)

    Trip computer Mk4....

    As above really, do they all come with them, as in mpg, miles left in tank etc

    If not can they be retro fitted?

    1.7 DTi btw...

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Status
    Offline
    Andy's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    5,313
    Mentioned in
    5 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    not all, just turbos and CDX's iirc,
    can be retrofitted with a lot of work (no one has actually ever finished it as far as i know as its not worth it)
    if you want to se MPG etc can just get a scanguage, do a search for scanguage for loads of info,
    Drives - 08 Astra SRi XP 1.9CDTi 150

    Beer is living proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy.

  3. #3
    Status
    Offline
    Mark T's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,934
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Ian T has retrofitted one to his 1.7 CDTI ECO4.

    IIRC the wiring from the ECU to the footwell connector was in place, so not too much work wiring it fully.


    I don't think anything came with the Fuel Computer as standard, just as an Option with Tech Pack.

    I've seen a 02 2.2 Coupe with it, and 03 GSI without.

    Our 2000 CDX has it, but it's got Tech Pack and Leather Pack.
    How Tos . Parts For Sale
    The two most life changing experiences you'll ever have. Finding Jesus, and having a baby.

  4. #4
    Status
    Offline
    Ian T's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    Mine had no wiring for the fuel computer whatsoever, but it wasn't actually all that hard to insert new pins into the ECU connector and pick up the remaining wires from the instruments.

    Ian.
    The Tech2 man...

  5. #5
    Status
    Offline
    Sisson's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy View Post
    if you want to se MPG etc can just get a scanguage, do a search for scanguage for loads of info,

    Mines a 2000 W plate i think, so its not got an OBD port and the scangauge won't work.

    Is there not another way of doing it?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Status
    Offline
    Maskell's Avatar
    AOC Obsessed
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1,489
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    All astra G's should have an OBD port, mines W plate and has it!

    IIRC all cars after '96 should have it!


  7. #7
    Status
    Offline
    Aaron_CD_16V's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    So does anyone know if the scangauge will work on all MK4 Astra's then?

    I'm quite interested in getting one of these myself, I know I have defnitely got an OB2 Port for sure on my 1999 1.8 Astra....

  8. #8
    Status
    Offline
    Sisson's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    hmmm.... thats confusing then, i though only 2003 onwards diesel astras came with obd ports and 2001 onwards for petrols?

    I suppose it might have one but it wont have all the correct pins or something?

  9. #9
    Status
    Offline
    Aaron_CD_16V's Avatar
    AOC Newbie
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    69
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    0 Post(s)
    Well it looks like this:


    When I've got the money to buy one guess I can just ask the seller really, just thought I'd pick everyone's brains on here first lol!

  10. #10
    Status
    Offline
    Ian T's Avatar
    AOC Regular
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    160
    Mentioned in
    0 Post(s)
    Quoted
    3 Post(s)
    It's more whether they use the correct protocols.

    Vauxhall retained their own adaptation of ODBII for a while, however the physical port is there.

    Personally I'd go for the standard fuel computer every time, it's not that hard to wire in.

    Ian.
    The Tech2 man...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-11-2013, 15:47
  2. trip computer
    By mightym in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-12-2009, 12:16
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 10-11-2006, 19:24

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •